The end of the road - Halfway (not intentionally) across America - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2006

The end of the road

That's what we have in common: we both have stuffing inside us. Sadly, mine wasn't enough to get me back on the bike
Heart 1 Comment 0

Well, the optimism wasn't justified. I am now all man and no longer as cuddly as I was but it is still too painful to sit on the saddle. And that's how it could stay for another two weeks. The result: the great ride is over and the adventure finished.

It has been a wonderful experience to be here and, if you've been good enough to read any of this, you'll know I've met some of the most friendly and interesting people of my life. It's a bitter thought that it has come to an end over something so trivial yet so painful.

Rural Kansas isn't the easiest place to get out of. America isn't known for public transport. Kind-hearted people are trying to sort out a lift to Hutchinson, the nearest town to have car hire, but I don't yet know the answer. It may be I can drive to Chicago and get myself home from there, although the so-called cheap fares sites are now quoting an outrageous $1,800 for a one-way fare to Toulouse. That's several times what I paid for the original return.

Of course, at that rate, it could prove as cheap to have a car for a month and a half and get to Seattle and go home on the original dates. But there's nothing I can do until I get to Hutchinson.

The greatest charm would be to take a train to Chicago. It wouldn't be expensive, either. But the twist is that although the train stops at Hutchinson, you can't get on there if you have luggage to put in the freight van. And I have a bicycle, of course.

Well, doubtless I shall get it sorted out. I doubt I'll be able to add anything to this site for a while so, if you have been, thanks for taking an interest and thanks for all the encouraging messages.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0