Things I want to keep doing on my next tour - Great Lakes to DC - CycleBlaze

Things I want to keep doing on my next tour

And things I think I should change (a retrospective)

I made an 11-minute video (which I'm still thinking about if it's interesting enough to post called "Things to keep doing" and "Things to change" following the ride. Here is my written summary since I don't know if the video is gripping enough to post. But if I ever decide to post it, by reading this you've already read the book and can skip the movie adaptation (even though technically I wrote down notes, then recorded the video, and then wrote this).

Things to keep doing

  1. Taking Amtrak long-haul train (and definitely in a room). It's very comfortable, private, you get your meals, you have a huge window to look out of. And if it's overnight, you can sleep in the train. While this may be seen as an extravagance, it's not necessarily so. You figure if I flew home, I'd have a hotel in DC ($250), then flight ($250 if you choose your own seat), then shipping the bike home ($100), so about $600 to get home. Renting a car is about $250 one way and depending on the length of the drive, is a long day. Sitting on the train for about $480 is my hotel room, transportation, bike transport and meals all in one.
  2. I brought a "muscle roller" stick on this trip. I don't know if it was rolling my thighs and calves every night or the placebo effect but I found my legs recovered very quickly this trip, moreso than usual.
  3. Rain gear. I don't like it. No-one likes it but when there's rain, you want it. I am going to look for a way to pack it in its own dry bag and keep it in a special area on the bike until I need it.
  4. Planning hotels/campsites. I like knowing where my goal is each day and that I have a guaranteed stay. Even for stealth camps, I planned that out so I knew what to expect and where the "stealthiest" part off of the North Branch Trail would be.
  5. Going stove-less. I always found there was a place to pick up a meal or food along the way, and I didn't have to carry all the food with me. It does cause one to shift mealtimes and carry food for several hours, but I didn't have a problem with transporting food for a couple of hours when I had to do that. Saving weight and trouble of the stove and fuel and cookpot outweighed the inconvenience of stopping for food. Plus, by stopping to get food I could get hot coffee and food and dispose of any trash right then and there at the store rather than taking it with me.
  6. Sunscreen on a push-up bar. This was so-much more convenient than a cream that gets all over the place. Easier to apply to neck, face, arms, anywhere I needed. And VERY packable. 
  7. Body Glide on a push-up bar. Very similar to the Beach Defense and in a package very similar to underarm deodorant. Very easy to use, pack, and take along with me. And prevented any saddle sores. And I had several days over 75 miles, some 80+, and one 95 miler.
  8. Energy/Nutrition bars. Find something that you like and make it part of your kit. These are good for snacks, sometimes breakfast, and if you cannot find dinner, a worthy substitute. My bar-of-choice is Clif Bar because they pack 250 calories, are not overly sweet (and are not covered in chocolate which just makes a mess when it melts), and are very sturdy when packing (they don't suffer the same fate in my pack as Pop Tarts used to). 
  9. 20,000 MaH battery pack. This was enough stored power for me to go 3 days/2 nights without electrical power. It recharged my iPhone 11 Pro about 3x and my Apple Watch about 4x. These have become so inexpensive for the "juice" they provide. I think I bought mine for about $25 on Amazon.
  10. Loved me some layers! I had a T-shirt, fleece, and windbreaker for on-bike wear. I could adjust as the temperature rose or fell. I also kept the same for off-bike wear, only because I like to keep my riding clothes (which start to get a certain odor after a few days) away from my off-bike wear (which I put on after a shower).

Things to change

  1. Panniers - these were extremely convenient but the extra weight on the back caused a shimmy in the front riding no-handed. So I'm going to go back to dry bags on the forks and a single bag on the rear on a seat post rack. That should even out the weight distribution front-to-rear.
  2. Leave the iPad at home. While it was nice to watch movies twice while in a hotel or on the train, it was another device which I didn't use as much as I did on previous tours. I would often journal using the larger tablet rather than my phone but since I didn't do that during the trip it was just something extra to carry. 
  3. Using iPhone as navigational device AND photo device. And combined with downloading the entire 630-mile route it stretched the capacity of the device. I think that was mostly due to the large download but next time I'll stick with my normal habit of my old (de-simmed) iPhone 6 with day-to-day downloaded maps and go with that.
  4. More frequent laundry. I did some soaping and wringing in the shower once and that over the course of 9 days wasn't enough. I should plan on getting a laundry for the on-bike clothes about once every three days. It just keeps things fresh.
  5. Going to see if I can pack raingear into its own dry bag and attach outside of everything else. It seemed like every time I opened my clothing pannier, even if it was at the bottom, I still had to deal with it. If it's packed in its own tightly-packed bag, then I can strap it to the bike and only deal with it when I need it.
  6. Leave some "food room" in the dry bag fora sandwich. Maybe this is more of a concern for panniers, but I found I was close to being maxed out, and then putting a sandwich in I recompressed the pannier again. Not too bad when it's a sandwich but one has to be careful when it's kettle-cooked chips. And we don't want to get into what happens to Pop Tarts....
  7. Take the purpose-built mountain bike shoes (I currently use 5-10 free rider shoes) rather than the trail runners. I brought my trail-running shoes because I thought they would dry much faster than the MTB shoes (they did) but also I thought I would be walking around more and the trail runners would be more comfortable. I found that I didn't do a lot of walking around after the day's ride so the MTB shoes are more than enough for the limited walking I did, AND they provide more support when pushing those pedals.
  8. Carefully pack the Thermacell and MAKE SURE THE SWITCH isn't on. Big mistake trying to light that the first camping night and finding out it wasn't lighting - I checked the fuel cell and it was empty. I then realized why my pannier had a slight chemical smell after I packed them a week prior to the trip. Won't make that mistake again.
  9. Try bringing solar panels strapped to the seat post rack folded over the dry bag. It's weight, sure, but if it can keep more energy filling up the mobile battery pack I might be able to stay away from electric indefinitely. I could also keep my GoPro batteries charged and go possibly 2-3 nights stealth camping and not need to find outlets. It's worth the experiment. Of course, a hotel/campsite with electric every 3 nights will also do the same thing. So there's that.... And there's the "ability to do laundry" as well.
  10. Long days (>80 miles). Yes, I can do them, and I proved that. The disadvantage is riding all day long and not being to stop and explore sights along the way. I didn't stop at Fort Frederick (which I had seen before in 2015) because I wanted to make my goal. And while that was enjoyable because the fun for the day was making the long days, if I had not seen those sights or explored the history in a previous trip, I would have missed all that. So the sweet spot for me is 60-70 miles which gives me time to ride, explore, and still get into my destination around mid-afternoon.
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0