To San Martin De Valdeiglesias, Spain - Climbs, Castles, And Cobblestones in Spain And Portugal 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

To San Martin De Valdeiglesias, Spain

Heart 0 Comment 0

Last night was a real oddity of the trip. It is the first time we could hear our lodging neighbors at all. There is an advantage to old buildings and thick walls. We could hear our neighbors on both sides, and above us. We could definitely hear the smoke detector chirping because it needs a new battery.  I set a white noise app on my phone for the first time this trip. When my alarm went off at 6 AM, it rang two times before I shut it off. That was enough to wake up our neighbors, I could hear them talking. Probably they were cussing me for getting up before daylight!

I made the trek downstairs to squeeze my tires. All was good.  We ate Chinese noodles with chicken for breakfast. That didn't go down too well for me. I supplemented with a fresh peach (delicious), and yogurt. It was 76 degrees when we left. That's a warm start for 8:30 AM. 

We stopped within a mile for ice. The day was looking up. Even better, the majority of the first 20 miles were through the flat Tietar Valley. This is a lovely area, that appears to have many paved side roads. We saw 8-10 cyclists, individually. Most did not return my greeting. One did ride alongside long enough to ask how long we had been traveling. I saw one female cyclist, who called me a championa. That brought a smile to my lips. 

Temperatures didn't get too high, and the climbs didn't seem too steep. As much as I enjoy the mountain scenery, I think the cork trees and plains of Portugal were more interesting, because they are different from home. We went through several small towns that were having farmers markets. Perhaps Friday is the day? 

We had a five mile side trip onto a no center line road. That was the best part of the day. We had been following M501 - which was quiet in the morning, but got busier as the day continued. It reminded me more of riding in the states, we didn't have any trouble, but I kept my eye on the rear view mirror a lot more. 

We stopped for a cold drink in Piedralaves at mile 27. They had Powerade! We shared a banana and peanuts. Does that sound like the snack of champions? The downtown area was busy with the farmers market. It was just barely noon and people appeared to be going about their morning routines. Noon is morning if you are a Spaniard! 

After our break, we had a couple of small climbs, but we made short work of them, and had several downhills that ate the miles up. We saw one cyclist with a flat tire. Jacinto stopped to see if he needed help, but he was good.

I was slurping the last of my ice water as we approached San Martin. I told Jacinto I would have another cold drink before we went to the hotel. We didn't see a place for drinks. Jacinto's GPS took us on the scenic route south of town, instead of staying on the main street. I had something to say about that! We were able to get in our room right away. Our bikes went through the lobby, and out onto the courtyard. I also have my laundry hanging out in the sun. It is 92 degrees now. I imagine my laundry is done, if I go outside.

We had previously scouted out a Cuban restaurant, which sounds interesting. They had a closed sign on the door at 2:55, but the door was cracked. I went in to see if there was a possibility of food. No, there wasn't, but he recommended the place across the street. That was an Argentinian restaurant. It was my favorite meal of the trip. A large piece of that was because the man was so friendly. 

We have left over Chinese from last night, and also leftover food from lunch today. I'm holding out hope for hard boiled eggs and yogurt for breakfast. I never thought that would be my breakfast of choice! The proprietor of the Argentinian restaurant assured us that our only chance for breakfast before 11 AM (!) would be to go over by the bus station, and perhaps there we could get something. They do have breakfast at the hotel, but not until 9:30. 

Food hours are a negative for us over here. Groceries frequently close in the afternoon and don't even open again. Sundays are a real issue. We ride into Madrid on a Sunday. Our trip is winding down. I'm looking at tickets for next summer already. For all of my doubts about the newness of riding in Europe, We've certainly had a good trip. It took some convincing for Jacinto to get me over here, and also a GREAT route. Reasons to return are the smooth pavement, lack of traffic, nice lodging (no 70's shag carpet or moldy bathroom showers). Even the most basic of lodging is squeaky clean. I understand that Spain is cheaper than most countries. We have enjoyed the prices, and the no tipping custom of Europe. That's a cost savings also.

Our day is bound to be good, it’s starting with ice!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Remember the cattle in the field a few days ago without a blade of grass? This is a stark difference.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another day, another pretty town on the hillside. This one I did not climb to!
Heart 3 Comment 0
More grazing animals. They couldn’t be bothered with me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don’t know who he is. But he’s kind of creepy. Seen in Casavieja. Bicycle buddy Jorge has the native Spanish language advantage, and the interest to investigate. https://apimagesblog.com/blog/2017/4/7/costumed-characters-converge-on-spanish-town Jorge discovered that these characters are called Zarramaches, celebrated on a festival on February 3rd. They celebrate the tales of how the shepards would come down out of the mountains once a year to be paid, and they dressed in costumes to entertain the children. Thank you, Jorge, for the detective work!
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Colorado, we call this a shelf road. It’s a narrow road with a big drop off. Drive carefully. Our badass-ness is tempered by the fact the road was paved and there were guardrails on the steepest areas. This was a side road, from miles 20-25, a nice diversion from the main road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I know it’s not fact, but my first thought was that they found some old cannonballs to decorate their gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto’s scenery photo today.
Heart 2 Comment 0
His Roman bridge photo.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like this mural.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Every self respecting town needs a castle.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We are getting better at spotting the small signs announcing businesses.
Heart 3 Comment 0
My bicycle is parked under our bedroom window. We have a ground floor room! This is a big improvement over the 43 steep stairs we had last night. Yes, I counted.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Our room is quite small. The AC works, as does the WiFi and TV. Did I say we are on the first floor? That is a real pleasure.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Susan CarpenterAnd you have your own pillow!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Susan CarpenterYes! There was one big pillow in the back. We used the two in the front. Hurray
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 1,089 miles (1,753 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat photos! I can’t believe you’re almost done.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago