Warrnambool to Port Campbell - Adelaide to Geelong Tour - CycleBlaze

May 1, 2021

Warrnambool to Port Campbell

What a difference 12 hours makes. Overnight the blue sky has almost disappeared and the wind has picked up. On the plus side the tent is dry.

Cloudy and windy today.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Deleted AccountNeat place to hang your bladder. What's your tent and how is it?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I packed up everything and then had breakfast because the camp kitchen didn't open until 8am. I prefer to use their kettle and they have a toaster. I was on the road by 9.

I rode along the beach path which was nice but I can't see much of the beach. Which may have been for the best as more beach means more slippery sand on my path. There is just no pleasing me sometimes.

Warrnambool foreshore shared pathway
Heart 3 Comment 0

Using smaller roads I made my way to Allansford. I took a small detour along the main street of Ziegler Parade and found a coffee at the general store.

Soon after I joined the B100 and I wasn't at all happy about all the trucks and general traffic. The trucks I think where carting milk to or from the cheese factory. 5kms on I turned off onto Childers Cove road, with much relief.

Childers Cove road had these arrows regularly painted on the road. I assume to remind our overseas friends which side to drive on.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Further on I rejoined the B100 and this time there were no trucks and the car traffic was much lighter. I'm not sure where they went but it's excellent.  

As I came up to the turnoff for The Bay of Islands, there where 2 police cars and 4 police standing across from the intersection.  Then a police motor bike turned up as well.  A very unusual scene on a country road. So I asked if there was anything I needed to be aware of? The answer:-  There's a bike race coming through.

Road is closed for a bike race. Cool!!
Heart 2 Comment 0

They closed the road but allowed me through!! I was feeling pretty jazzed riding up the road to the Bay of Islands car park knowing the road was closed and I was about to see a bike race.

Melbourne to Warrnambool race. Part of the Cycle Vic calendar events
Heart 3 Comment 1
Kathleen ClassenHow much fun is that to see!!! How wonderful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Plus all the support vehicles. It all flashes by in a few minutes and then the excitement is all over
Heart 2 Comment 0

The Bay of Islands was stunning.

I rode Monti right along the walking path to the viewing platform. There was almost no one else there
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Back onto the B100 to look at the Bay of Martyrs. There was a walking path along the cliff top here. So once again I just rode Monti along it. With on one else there it was like a personal playground.

Bay of Martyrs
Heart 3 Comment 0
Clifftop path
Heart 2 Comment 0

Next was the Grotto. Erosion over a very long time from both the land and sea created this impressive place.

The Grotto. I did get closer but this was the best photo
Heart 4 Comment 1
Deleted AccountDidn't ride down the stairs Brianna? 😁
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

London bridge was next. A lot more people here, I counted a huge 24 bodies and multiple cars in the car park. A positive crowd.

I remember when there was 2 archers and people got stranded on the other side when it fell in. They were rescued by helicopter. What a story that would be.
Heart 4 Comment 0

By this time I've almost reached Port Campbell and half the drivers I've said at least 'Hi' to, wave or toot their horn as they pass. It's a nice end to a very scenic day.

Port Campbell
Heart 2 Comment 0

Only the fast down hill to go. I love finishing the day with a down hill.

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 838 km (520 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kathleen ClassenI am loving your journal. We enjoyed these places following our son’s wedding to an Australian lass in November 2019. Our last trip out of Canada before Covid and we loved it. We can’t wait to get back as we have a whole Australian family we adore now. Next time we will bring the bikes!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago