Port Campbell to Princetown - Adelaide to Geelong Tour - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2021

Port Campbell to Princetown

Short Day

Forecast was for rain today, just a few millimetres coming between 4am to lunch time. I kept expecting to hear it during the night but no pitta patta came. I checked the BOM rain radar and it was all off the coast, yay! Sorry farmers.

Sunrise from Port Campbell caravan park
Heart 6 Comment 1
Deleted AccountAnother stunner!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Short day today, I packed and was on the road to Loch Ard Gorge by 9am. A beautiful spot named after the tragic ship wreck of the Loch Ard in 1878. The 2 survives ( Tom and Eva) were washed up in the gorge. Somehow Tom climb out to get help. 

Loch Ard Gorge from above
Heart 5 Comment 0
Loch Ard Gorge further around
Heart 5 Comment 0
Loch Ard Gorge from the beach
Heart 5 Comment 0

I thought the overcast weather would make for grey photos today but I think it adds to the drama instead. So be prepared for photo bombing in today's journal.

Not sure what's behind me has a name, but it sure was stunning. Water proof on today, just incase
Heart 4 Comment 0

I rode Monti along all the walking trails from the Loch Ard Gorge car park.  There where only a few people and no one seemed to mind.

The Razorback
Heart 4 Comment 0

Down the road a few more kilometres is the famous 12 Apostles. 

Just down this specy road
Heart 4 Comment 0

The carpark is massive and there are 2 helicopters giving 15mins scenic flight's for a mear $85 ( sarcasm intended).  It is a spectacular piece of coastline.

More people, more crowd controls. I did the right thing, parked Monti and walked
Heart 3 Comment 0
Under the highway.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I think you can tell by the path surface the volume of people that visit somewhere. Gravel for low volume, bitumen for medium and cement for high volume. There are more people here than any other tourist place so far this trip but it is still very pleasant.

The 12 Apostles, some have fallen over so you won't see 12 anymore
Heart 6 Comment 0
Not too many people
Heart 2 Comment 1
Kathleen ClassenWhen we were there it was packed...with so many people with their back to the view taking selfies. Bus tour after bus tour after bus tour. We went back early the next morning and that was much better. So beautiful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Looking east towards Gibson's steps.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I finished my day at the Princetown Recreation Reserve. Currently it's 2pm and there is one else here. Very strange but lovely as the tiny wrens are coming right up to my tent.

Later I went and explore the tiny town of Princetown. The only store open is a food van in the front yard of the Youth Hostel. Wendy makes yummy scones with jam and cream. Unfortunately for the town she leaves tomorrow to setup in the BIG4 caravan park in Apollo Bay, then will be no food business in town.

To get to town from the campground the township had built a boardwalk.

Boardwalk at Princetown
Heart 4 Comment 0

I have a big climb up to Lavers Hill tomorrow, it was nice to have a relaxing afternoon.

Andrew to answer your tent question. It's a Big Agnes Copper Spur HV 1 person Bike Packing tent. Bike packing means the pole sections are shorter making it easier to fit in my panniers. HV stands for high volume, which means it's wider and taller at your head end than your feet. Making it feel less closed in. It's the first 1 person tent I've ever had and I love it. It's just big enough to fit everything under it. I fit my panniers in the vestibule. It's wide enough on the inside to fit my cloths bag next to my shoulders and my handbar bag above head. Plus it has this net shelf above my feet.

My tent inside
Heart 6 Comment 2
Deleted AccountThanks Brianna, it looks awesome. expensive though at $589-00.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Brianna DallTo Deleted AccountYes, it was mid Covid19 lock down and it allowed me to looked to when we would be free to go on adventure's again. Total indulgence.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Hope this helps.

Today's ride: 23 km (14 miles)
Total: 861 km (535 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0