Home to McLaren Vale - Day 1 - Adelaide to Geelong Tour - CycleBlaze

April 21, 2021

Home to McLaren Vale - Day 1

The Adventure Begins

Good start to the trip. Weather was overcast but not to windy and no rain, yes!

Here we go
Heart 6 Comment 0

My route started with riding down to the Linear Park trail taking me along the Torrens Creek into the Adelaide CBD. This coincidently is also my commute to work. It's nice to be on a familiar path while I adjust to the heavy bike.

Hope Valley Reserve and O-Bahn bus track
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Gilberton swinging bridge was reconditioned last year. In a different generation people swum in the Torrens here. It's to polluted to do that now
Heart 3 Comment 0
Duckie and co made it into the city. The bush setting morphes into gardens
Heart 3 Comment 0
We crossed over the weir that enables the Torrens Lakes in the CBD
Heart 3 Comment 0

From the city I rode down the Westside bikeway reserve to Glenelg Beach. The reserve was once where the trams ran but the tracks were taken up before I was born. From Glenelg it's down the coast, there was lots of flat cycling this morning.

View down the coast., I'll be riding all the way down to the end. It's overcast so not the best view
Heart 4 Comment 0

The Brighton jetty has been decorated in readiness for ANZAC Day on Sunday.

LEST WE FORGET message is created from many knitting red poppy flowers. Lots of work has gone into this and it looks great.
Heart 6 Comment 0

From the coast I headed up the Coast to Vines rail trail. It was a very pleasant ride moving from the south suburbs of Adelaide to farmland. There were even some vineyards 😃 

Coast to Vines trail head
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I cruised into McLaren Vale about 3:30pm, having spent all day on bikeways and a few minor roads. Nice!

 I'm camping at the McLaren Vale Riverside caravan park, taking full advantage of the facilities.

Tomorrow I'm onto roads with traffic.

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 78 km (48 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Deleted AccountExcellent start Brianna, well done. Trams were still operating in my time in Adelaide and that rail trail from Brighton was non existant - looks an awesome ride. McLaren Vale country is beautiful cycling.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Marian HarperSo far so good! I remember taking my Joey mob cycling from Noarlunga to McLaren Vale along some great paths. They earned their badges that day- so did their parents 😁
Reply to this comment
3 years ago