Only A Fool Would Ride This Route - GOING UP! The Gulf of Mexico to Lake Superior - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2015

Only A Fool Would Ride This Route

Cleveland, Mississippi

The argument resumed next door at 7:00 a.m.  I only got to hear one side of the fight due to it being conducted over the phone, but the poor guy passionately felt like he had been wronged.  A couple of times his harangue included the words "I love you baby, but  . . ."  and then he would return to telling her just how things needed to be.  I believe he is in this motel because his wife/girlfriend booted his ass out of the house.  What a motel.  All this entertainment for only $32.

Today's route to the Great River Road State Park was all north and west.  Coincidentally, today's breeze came directly from the northwest.  Like a trooper, I pushed forward anyway.

Last year I went on a serious tirade about headwinds in my journal and I don't think I can top that one.  I am not a complainer by nature.  I'm just a reporter.  A reporter for this Journal-Picayune.  Today I am the Weather Reporter and my report can be summed up in just two sentences:  Northwest winds at 15-20 m.p.h. with stronger gusts.  Name a person who enjoys such headwinds and I will name someone who probably enjoys getting waterboarded. 

A rare pretty spot in this part of west-central Mississippi. Note the nice shade of brown water.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I continued into the endless fields of cotton and the flatness and the wind and I rejoiced at finally reaching the state park.  I am referring to The Great River Road State Park, which I learned upon arrival is closed until further notice due to damage caused by a Mississippi River flood.  The campground might be closed forever considering it is on the other side of the levee from the safe part of the park.

This was not a good development.  I considered just setting up my tent in a small area that was posted as "Day Use Only," but I admit that some bugs scared me off--BIG bugs.  I simply could not do it.

My best alternative was to ride 20 more miles back east--with the wind--to the city of Cleveland.  To sum up just how ridiculous this foolish route was, I'll just say this:  I rode 65 miles to get to a city that I could have reached by a more direct route of 25 miles via The Blues Highway.

Not exactly a local beer, but at least it was brewed in the South. It helped to provide a decent ending to a messed-up day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 437 miles (703 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonA reporter? I’m obviously not a careful reader and I have a terrible memory, but I thought you were a paint salesman. Multiple talents?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonWell, I'm a reporter for the purposes of this journal only. No REAL publication would put up with my antics. But you're right--my true calling was and always will be paint. (Oh my God, I can't believe I just wrote that.)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago