Journal-Picayune Religion Editor Issues Limited Apology - GOING UP! The Gulf of Mexico to Lake Superior - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2015

Journal-Picayune Religion Editor Issues Limited Apology

Delabar State Park, Illinois

Paradise is a night sleeping in a tent pitched on a pine needle bed / And a morning with caffeine streaming through my head.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Some observations on a near-perfect morning:

  1. I don't think I am going to be accepted as a Latter Day Saint.  Coffee this morning, beer last night, and the things I was writing in my notebook equates to a big "DENIED" rubber-stamped onto my application for emergency admittance to the church.  I'll never get into that temple.  I'll never be as respected as Mitt Romney.  I'll never have a pair of those special underpants.
  2. I consider what that bird dropped on my tent this morning to be very rude behavior.
  3. The Nauvoo State Park is located within the town of Nauvoo.  Doesn't that make it a city park?
  4. After leaving the campground I pedaled my way back up the hill to the temple and I noticed the vultures were no longer circling the spire.  I pictured a team of Mormon sharpshooters ridding the sacred temple of the pests.
  5. The Nauvoo Library was my favorite library stop so far.  It was SO tiny with SO few books and only a couple of computers for public use.  Around 10:15 a.m., local kids began gathering for the 10:30 children's story hour.  They were so excited.  I couldn't help but chuckle at some of the conversations between the Nauvooians and the librarian.  Like this one:

"Oh my gosh," exclaimed the mother of one of the little kids awaiting story hour, "why do you have so many copies of "Fahrenheit 451?"

"I don't know.  We just do!" answered the librarian as if no further explanation was necessary.  I liked her.

The tiniest and BEST library visit of the trip.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Overall, I really liked Nauvoo.  I feel a little guilty about poking so much fun at the town and the local religion.  This is small town America and that big beautiful temple does not detract from that at all.  It's just that sometimes I can't help myself.

I had a good ride today under a hot sun.  Along the way I passed two guys on a tandem.  They were older and grayer than I am.  I think one of them was blind, or at least had very poor eyesight.  I wasn't sure though.  I couldn't very well say, "Hey, are you blind?"  But I used my deductive thought processes when I noticed the rider in front (Nate) giving riding instructions, and the rider in back never making eye contact when I talked to them.

They were bringing up the tail end of a sag-supported group of riders doing the Great River Road.  They were nice guys who were veterans of other supported bike tours, and I enjoyed talking to them.

I reflected on another good day of bike riding at the Delabar State Park Campground.

The boulevard of token trees guided me to the Delabar State Park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
For the second night in a row, I am the only camper at an Illinois state park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,184 miles (1,905 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0