Armadillos Win Mississippi State Roadkill Championship - GOING UP! The Gulf of Mexico to Lake Superior - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2015

Armadillos Win Mississippi State Roadkill Championship

T.O. Fuller State Park, Tennessee

From the Journal-Picayune Sports Desk

On the south-to-north highway arena this week, the state's Armadillos edged out the #1-seeded Opossums in the Mississippi Roadkill Finals.  It was the hard-fought match up everybody expected after the Armadillos beat the Turtles and the Opossums trounced the Snakes in the semi-finals.  After all the blood had settled, the Opossums simply could not match the sheer numbers, the poor judgement, and the stupidity of the Armadillos.

Las Vegas odds-makers had the Opossums as heavy favorites for the tournament because they lacked the protective armor plating of the armadillos, making them more vulnerable to the brutal force of speeding automobiles.  Indeed, the Opossums held a slim lead at the state's mid-point.  However, they could not withstand the onslaught of Armadillo deaths in the northern sector of the state.  Between Clarksdale and Tunica, the Armadillos went on a 6-0 run that sealed the victory.

In the third-place match-up, the Turtles crushed the Snakes by a large margin.  The Snakes put up a gallant effort at the end, but it was impossible for them to overcome the huge lead the Turtles built up in the southern counties.

-------

Other than the roadkill tournament, it was mostly an uneventful day.  I did get to watch a couple of crop duster planes swooping back and forth over the cotton fields of the Mississippi Delta.  No big deal.  But soon thereafter came an exciting development.  Two miles from the Tennessee border I saw a hill.  It was a small hill, but a hill nevertheless.  And it was followed by another one.  And there were more trees.  And some more hills.  I was finally emerging from the Mississippi Delta.

I found this tiny "Tennessee Welcomes You" trinket as I was leaving Mississippi.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the Tennessee border, the chaos of Memphis began.  I made my way through heavy traffic to the T.O. Fuller State Park where I am camping for the night.

At this point, I just have to add that I have never been anywhere where people have been so friendly to a stranger as they have been in Louisiana and Mississippi.  I got waves from cars, from people mowing their lawns, from road workers, etc.  Folks asked about my ride, offered encouragement and praise, and called me "sir."  I am the furthest thing from a "sir" but it's a term of respect I rarely hear in the north.

Bicycle camping Tennessee Style.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 544 miles (875 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
William AbbeyI must say your roadkill finals laid me out. Having ridden acrosst Mississippi oncest, the (lack of) shoulders bothered me until I realized its a trap -luring indigenous species of wildlife and slurppie cups onto two lanes. Give a guy a fish pole and he can find a way to stay drunk weeks on end. A real fisherman uses DuPont spinners. Same principal. Make it easy.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo William AbbeyThank you for your response, William. I had fun writing up this page. The quantity of roadkill was uncanny. As a non-fisherman, I don't know the difference between a DuPont spinner and a Lindy Rig which seems to be the favored lure up here in Minnesota, but I assume different lures work better for bass than the ones used for walleyes.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago