28th Day of Riding - Across USA in 52 Days - CycleBlaze

April 13, 2022

28th Day of Riding

Our route today was 89 miles from Navasota to Shepherd TX. The forecast was 70% chance of thunderstorms in the middle of the day. So I rode with my rain jacket and rain pants in my pannier, in case I needed them. Fortunately, I didn't. The clouds just drizzled (though the drizzle got heavy in the last hour before I reached camp).

Here's a photo that Alan took of me in front of a sign in Sam Houston National Park. Of course the North American Wood Ape is a Sasquatch, which I thought resided more in the Pacific Northwest than in Texas. 

Lynn accidentally went off the road again today and injured her wrist.  She went to urgent care, which stitched her up and told her not to bike for a couple of weeks.

Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 89 miles (143 km)
Total: 1,814 miles (2,919 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Nate StewartThe Pacific Northwest indeed has the highest concentration of Sasquatch sightings. However, they are a continent-wide phenomenon. Check out this map of sightings in the US and Canada:
https://thinkoutside.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=edaf3e5ba2714d14a71ab102edd28561

Protections for Bigfoot vary. Skamania County, WA is a designated Sasquatch Refuge 🌲 But in TX it's always open season 😬
https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/87148/it-legal-shoot-bigfoot
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Shari BrownTo Nate StewartThank you, Nate. I have also recently seen some on some socks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nate StewartCurious coincidence! A thoughtful friend once gifted me some Bigfoot socks. (The socks are sized for human feet)
👣
Reply to this comment
1 year ago