Day 5: I found sun, now I'd like a little warm to go with it! - The Girl Friday Rides Again - CycleBlaze

January 1, 2011

Day 5: I found sun, now I'd like a little warm to go with it!

I can sum up today's ride in two words--"Cheeseburger Hotdog"

Heart 0 Comment 0

That's what I ate in Maricopa, after 40 miles of riding from Gila Bend. I was so gassed I actually ate this eeeer, "thing" that some would describe as food. Me, I'm not sure if there was any food in it but in the state I was in if tasted like Gourmet. Oh, and I also had a Coke, because what is mystery "meat", preservatives and other miscellaneous crap without the high fructose corn syrup and caffeine to go with it?

The day was beautiful, really, except for the cold. If it had been about 20 degrees warmer it would have been banner riding conditions. I rolled out of bed around 7:30am and checked out the weather-27 degrees. Grrrrr. Sure glad I didn't camp.

Still, it was sunny, not a cloud in the sky, and I gathered up my stuff and was on my way. First stop was the "Space Age Café" which is part of the Best Western Hotel. It was a delicious breakfast with the most interesting murals on the wall. After eggs, hash browns, toast and coffee I hit the road.

I can't complain about the scenery or road conditions on the 40 mile stretch from Gila Bend to Maricopa. The landscape was nice and so was the shoulder which was nice and wide (though narrowed in the last 10 or so miles). Traffic was light but not so light it felt creepy--just right.

The only problem was there seem to be a slight grade UP for about 20 miles. That, combined with a headwind, cold temperatures and heavy legs made for a LONG day. I ate and drank often but didn't stop for any length of time because it was too cold to sit still. After about 20 miles I broke out the hand warmers.

Finally, about 25 miles into the slow, slog I was ready for a real break. I started looking for a place that was a little sheltered from the wind when in the distance I saw a line of palm trees. That could only mean--man made! I got closer and saw it was a school and, right next door, a manned fire station!

It's like I always say, you can always count on a fire fighter! I knocked on the door and they let me use their bathroom and warm up a bit. Then we chatted a bit about the Bike Friday and its peculiarities. "It's 13 miles to Maricopa and 16 more to Phoenix," they told me. "And there is a new way through the (Indian) reservation that's shorter, go left at the fire station when you get on the reservation." That's what I did, perfect directions.

But even with the fire house reprieve I was feeling pretty wasted, and I made it to Maricopa and the Circle K not a moment too soon. I went right for the hot chocolate but nothing came out. The attendant came over to check on it and when she opened to the door chocolate powder spewed out in a cloud of brown dusk. I'm guessing hot chocolate in Arizona is not normally the biggest seller? It's probably been stuck like that for years and no one knew it until I rolled in.

While she struggled with that mess I moved on. And it was then I found the cheeseburger hotdogs. It's something I wouldn't dream of eating in a more lucid moment,. But heck, I was GASSED! After all those cold miles of all that stuff I mentioned earlier, it looked just SO delicious! That, on a lily white bun, with 2 packs of ketchup and one of mustard, plus a Coke---priceless! Is it any wonder people who don't tour think we are insane?

I ate the dog in two bites and was on my way again for the last leg of the trip. I broke zero speed records and just kept the wheels turning. Finally 6 hours and 62 miles later I rolled up to Donna and Tim's house and was greeted with a hot cup of tea. I peeled off my 3 of my 5 layers of clothes, sat on the floor and didn't move for an hour.

Mission accomplished! Another adventure in the books.

Brrrrrrr! I have a whole new respect for those guys touring in the snow in Pakistan or wherever.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My coffee cup at the Space Age Cafe
Heart 1 Comment 0
Space Age Cafe mural
Heart 0 Comment 0
Space Age Cafe mural 2
Heart 2 Comment 0
The wild life in Gila Bend was nice...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...though I had a little run in with a snake
Heart 3 Comment 0
Leaving Gila Bend behind
Heart 0 Comment 0
It WAS a pretty day, just kind a cold
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of cactus along the way...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting closer to Maricopa
Heart 1 Comment 0
You can always count on a fire fighter! Thanks guys.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Made it! Wooo-Hoooo!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 294 miles (473 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0