Day 3: Selective memory - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

December 23, 2009

Day 3: Selective memory

Wow, kind of a hard day, thanks to the combo of being in off-season shape, a fair bit of climbing, a moderate headwind and an early sunset, which forced me to really push the last 2 hours. Still, no complaints, the sun was shining and I was out riding. Besides, what self respecting cyclist (particularly touring cyclist) has not dragged themselves home in the last hour of a ride with aching legs and lungs, in a semi-capacitated state, wondering what on earth they were thinking? If you're anything like me, the brain takes over, and the thoughts that go through your head in that last hour of riding go something like this...

"I'm an idiot! Who tours on a bike? Everyone else drives a car, why am I not in one right now...
If I had dragged myself out of bed an hour earlier I would be there already, eating dinner...
My butt hurts...
Why didn't I bring more chocolate!?...
If I had not stopped for three lattes today I would be there already. Why couldn't two lattes be enough, that would have saved me 30 minutes, why did I have to be greedy...
Why did I make such a big deal out of yesterday's tailwinds. Now the wind gods are angry at me for being so flippant; they must have ordered up a headwind just for a laugh...
Who put this stupid hill here!? I don't remember this hill on the map?...
My butt hurts...why didn't I stop at that last bike shop for some chamois butt'r...
Why am I out here touring on the shortest day of the year? If it was July I could stop for another latte, and more chocolate; I could slow down, and be there with daylight to spare...
I am NOT riding tomorrow! In fact this is my last tour. I've had it with this stupid bike..."

Of course, everything changes when you arrive at your destination; you hose yourself down, stuff yourself with food, and think about the rest of the day's ride... The beautiful sunrise in San Juan Capistrano, the amazing French toast breakfast, meeting other cyclists, including two I know from the San Diego Bike Club, the lattes, watching all the people enjoying the beach, being able to remove my arm and leg warmers in the middle of winter, eating the great buffalo burger my mom made when I arrived (thanks mom!), the list goes on and on...

And soon after all those "last hour" thoughts, you start planning for the next day's ride, as if the last hour never happened. I LOVE selective memory! :-)

Now, what time does tomorrow's ride start? I can't wait!

Karen (and the Girl Friday)

P.S. Actually, tomorrow will be an off day, but not because of my hard last hour of riding today, it's just the way it worked out. But stay tuned for more "Adventures of the Girl Friday" in the days to come, including Christmas day! The fun has only just begun.

I love a street that sees the glass as half full
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunrise from my hotel room
Heart 1 Comment 0
San Juan Capistrano--the "new" church
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't stay for the swallow story. If I had I would NEVER have made it home before dark!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Money!
I often find money on the road. On my first tour I found $94 one day and $8 two days later. The trick is not to LOOK for the money. It's a zen thing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This morning's breakfast! MMMmmmmm
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Girl Friday in Oceanside
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 127 miles (204 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0