Foster to Yarram - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2024

Foster to Yarram

Everything is dry after yesterday's rain, expect my cycling shoes. I pack up and get on the trail without any issues.

All set for the day
Heart 3 Comment 0

With all the rain yesterday I completely forgot the sunscreen, so my face is a bit pink.

I'm back on the Great Southern Rail Trail for 10 kms before heading into the hills to see the Agnes Falls.

I'm going to spiral up and behind those windmills.
Heart 1 Comment 0

A lot of up and a bit of down as I make my way into the hills, it's hard work but the road is great with very little traffic.

Some local art work, I'm sure it's carved out of the tree stump it's sitting on, very clever
Heart 1 Comment 0

The falls are lovely, great spot for morning tea. There is a small weir at the very top. This creek was the essential water supply for Toora and the surrounding towns early last century. Since then a dam had been added further up the catchment, but the weir had been left.

Weir at the top
Heart 2 Comment 0
Agnes Falls
Heart 3 Comment 0

A view to Wilson Promontory and then 3 KMs down hill back to the railtrail and the town of Welshpool.

Wilson Promontory
Heart 4 Comment 0
What goes up must go down, yay!
Heart 1 Comment 0

So is 55kms/ hr to fast and to slow down should I use one brake alternating or both together.  These are the questions that run through my mind as I wizz down the hill with a big grin on my face, on a beautiful sealed road. In no time at all I'm back a sea level. Onto Port Welshpool for lunch.

Port Welshpool is underwhelming, I was expecting a small bustling water front with a cafe or two. Instead it's quiet and the only shop is an old small general store. I order fish and chips and several cyclists join me. They have come from Foster and will return after lunch.

There is a long curved jetty at Port Welshpool, it's recently being refurbished and rebuilt after it got old and then a fire destroyed a section of it. In world war 2 a team worked out of Port Welshpool clearing mines from this area of the coast.

Port Welshpool Jetty, it's curved to follow the channel and allow for a train track that never happened
Heart 1 Comment 0

I tried to confirm if it was worth cycling back to Welshpool and picking up the brand new section of the rail trail. I couldn't find anything that confirmed it was open so headed along a route that followed the coast.

Initially it was a sealed road that changed to a gravel road and then I hit the Nooramunga Marine and Costal park. The road is now sand 😕  10kms of a sand track where I oscillating between walking and trying to cycle. It was hard work pushing the bike and the sand even got into my shoes and socks. I wouldn't recommend this route to anyone.

As the sign says
Heart 0 Comment 0
My torturous 10kms has started.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made it out! The sand finishes and I exit out onto a sealed road
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sand that came out of my shoe and sock.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's now 3pm and the cloud are starting to turn a dark grey, they look like rain is on the way. I'm still over an hour from my destination and I'm exhausted. I decided to put Lexi into turbo mode and just focus on finishing off the day. Turbo means I should move along at 23-25kms as it's flat terrain.

Early night and I'll decide in the morning if I stay for a rest day.

Camp all set and I get a rainbow, Nice!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Robert DaviesExcellent shot of the Leprechaun...the pot of gold must be near
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

Today's ride: 77 km (48 miles)
Total: 397 km (247 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Cam RungieIt is great to be following you.
Onya.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Brianna DallThanks Cam, glad you are enjoying it.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago