The Plan: Train, Bike, Car - Great Allegheny Passage Two Day Trip - CycleBlaze

The Plan: Train, Bike, Car

My wife and I were married on October 28th 1989 and over the past 32 years we've done a variety of getaways for our anniversary weekend - including one year biking the C&O Canal Towpath 180 miles from Cumberland MD to Washington DC - Cycleblaze journal here.

We haven't been to Deep Creek Lake in Western MD for many years, so we picked that for this year's trip. Lots of great hiking up there and not that long of a drive. Cycling would not be the focus - it is very hilly up there and and the weather looked to be cold and cloudy, at best. But, many great hiking opportunities up there.

My work schedule was pretty wide open the week before the planned weekend and I found that the Amtrak Capitol Limited train from DC to Pittsburgh had one remaining spot for a roll-on bicycle, but only on Wednesday of that week, hmmm...

So here's the plan:

  • Weds Oct 20 I will get on Amtrak from Washington DC's Union Station at about 4pm and hopefully arrive in downtown Pittsburgh just before midnight.
  • I'll burn some Bonvoy Frequent Traveler points at the Pittsburgh Marriott Courtyard - a short bike ride in the dark from Amtrak and a short bike ride to the GAP starting point at Point State Park in Pittsburgh the next morning. 
  • Thurs Oct 21 I will bike about 88 miles from Pittsburgh to Confluence PA and stay at the Riverview Kitchenettes, after finding my first two choices (the Parker House and Rivers Edge Bed and Breakfast) were fully booked for that night. I've never biked on the GAP between West Newton and Pittsburgh, so the first 34 miles or so will be new to me.
  • Friday Oct 22 I will bike 62 miles from Confluence to Cumberland MD. I've done this stretch many times before - a gradual uphill for 37 miles, then mostly downhill for the 25 miles or so from Deal into Cumberland. 
  • My wife will make the 2 hour drive from home to Cumberland to meet me, I'll put the bike on the car and we will drive the remaining 45 miles or so to Deep Creek Lake to start our getaway weekend.

That's the plan - now we wait to see how the weather cooperates.

One week out, 33% chance of AM showers on the second day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather guessers view on the morning of my departure:

Looks like the current guess is I will face PM showers on both riding days - incentive to pedal faster!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0