Day 82: Perth to Mundaring - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2022

Day 82: Perth to Mundaring

Start:  9:40am
Distance: 46 km
Ride time: 3:13 hours
Average:  14km/hr 
Max:  46km/hr
Finish: 2:40pm

I had a coffee while I waited for a break in the weather. It had rained a lot this morning. 

I followed bike paths for a while.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A pedestrian and cycle bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Some artwork next to the bike path:

Artist: Daniel Nonis.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Artist: Jimmy Mair.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bike tools in a public park
Heart 4 Comment 0
I didn't see any ducklings.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Carnaby's black cockatoo.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Carnaby's black cockatoo.

After a while I got on to a heritage rail trail that went through John Forest National Park.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Cutting through rock.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Hovea Falls.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The terrain was a gentle incline for many kms. It rained a little.

This tiny flower looks like noodles.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was lovely to be riding through the forest and away from noisy cars. Hopefully the next few weeks will be like this on the Munda Biddi Trail.

I stopped in Mundaring and had lunch at the bakery. There was a heavy downpour while I did this.

I'm staying a couple kms out of town at the Traveller's Rest. There is a campground on the other side of town that is closed.

Warm and dry digs.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I later rode in the rain to the pub to have a good dinner.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Tomorrow I will start the Munda Biddi Trail. It goes for 1,000kms off-road south-east to Albany.

I'm not sure when I'll have reception again so I thank you for your patience in waiting for me to update the blog.

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 4,663 km (2,896 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Frank DenmanMunda Biddi have fun mate and check each night for tics,the pea gravel and pushing done us in so we only got half way before injury forced us to stop.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthySounds like a major challenge ahead. Good luck!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Frank. Thanks for the tips. Cheers
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthySo far so good🤗
Reply to this comment
1 year ago