Day 77: Yanchep National Park to Perth - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2022

Day 77: Yanchep National Park to Perth

Start: 8:55 am
Distance: 56 km
Ride time: 3:26hours
Average: 16 km/hr 
Max:  47km/hr
Finish: 1:40pm

It was another perfect day for cycling. Sunny and mild with a little tailwind.
Heart 4 Comment 0
After a while I found a bike path.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I saw some gum blossoms:

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Somehow I lost the bike path and ended up in Yellagonga Regional Park.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I did about 10kms through this park. It was wonderful. It has a lake with a good path and lots of open grassed areas. I didn't see any turtles.

I couldn't find the cycle path after the park so I ended up riding along footpaths. There was no shoulder and I didn't feel like asserting my right to ride on the road with all of the busy zooming traffic.

When I got close to the city, I was happy to ride in the bus lanes.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I stopped at a bike shop and bought a pair of gloves as mine were falling apart.

I stopped at a cafe and celebrated my arrival to Perth with a cherry pie and iced coffee.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I checked in to an apartment and was allowed to put my bike in the room.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'm looking forward to enjoying some luxury for a few days. Not having to worry about a wet tent or wet sleeping bag or bad weather or hills etc.

The power bank I bought the other day doesn't work properly. I went to JB and bought 2 power banks, leads and a charger. I am now fully equipped with power.

I went to the post office and collected the tyres Serena had sent me.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Serena arrived in the evening and it was amazing to see her again.

Today's ride: 56 km (35 miles)
Total: 4,617 km (2,867 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Annie O'SheaWishing you both some wonderful days exploring Perth with good weather
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Mum. Am enjoying Perth.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago