Day 75: Cervantes to Ledge Point - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2022

Day 75: Cervantes to Ledge Point

Start: 7:15 am
Distance: 94km
Ride time: 6hours
Average:  16km/hr 
Max:  42km/hr
Finish: 2:15pm

It didn't rain during the night. The wind never stopped. For the first time in several days I was able to pack up a dry tent and a dry sleeping bag. It makes a good start to the day.

This is a large working weather vane in Cervantes.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There was still an annoying headwind for 1.5 hours and then it just stopped. I was very relieved.

I entered a National Park.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It must get very windy here.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I took the time to look for some new flowers today:

Green flower.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A nodding blue lilly.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Stypandra glauca.

A Daviesia.
Heart 5 Comment 0

A Daviesia.

Heart 5 Comment 0
A melaleuca.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A daisy.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Today's tree pic is unusual. It doesn't have many branches or leaves. It could be a banksia, I'm not sure.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Lednar De Nalloh Nuytsia floribunda or Western Australian Christmas Tree, will be full of orange flowers in December.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Lednar. What great flowers it has!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Lednar later identified this as the Australian Christmas tree.  Thanks Lednar!

I was cruising along and looking for new flowers when I spotted a plane about 20 metres into the scrub.

I pulled it out for a closer look.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I guess it had been there for a couple of years as the screws were rusty. I was 37kms from Cervantes and 50kms from Lancelin. It wasn't near anywhere.  I have no idea how it could have ended up here.

I left it by the roadside so other people can check it out.

This Nature Reserve has thousands of grass trees.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Yued Country.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Ledge Point is 5kms off the main road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There was no one at the beach.
Heart 6 Comment 0

This is my kinda town. There's a general store and nothing else. Very few people. Hardly any tourists. 

I sat on beach in the sunshine wearing my wool jumper, doing my blog. I'm not used to this cool weather.

Big and lots of grass. $29.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 94 km (58 miles)
Total: 4,488 km (2,787 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthySo many beautiful flowers today Vince
Reply to this comment
1 year ago