Day 137: Venus Bay to Elliston - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 12, 2022

Day 137: Venus Bay to Elliston

Start: 8:30am
Distance: 72km
Ride time:  3:42hours
Average:  19km/hr 
Max: 46km/hr
Finish: 12:25pm

It rained all night and stopped just before I got up. I struggled to sleep well. I was too exhausted from yesterday and I have a bit of a cold. I blame Geoff for this as he had a cold too. I hope you're reading this Geoff!

It was overcast all day with a cool temperature. 

There were thousands of these Italian snails about.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The wet weather must have given them more freedom. They were all over the road. I squashed hundreds of them with my tyres as they were too numerous to avoid.

The scenery today continued to be wheat or sheep grazing.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The traffic was very light with the terrain undulating gently, made for good riding.

A dolphin made out of sticks.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Elliston jetty.
Heart 6 Comment 0

In the early years, there were no roads here. All of the supplies came by ship. The last ship stopped in 1965.

Some water views:

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
I rode along the cliffs for a few kms to see an aboriginal memorial.
Heart 8 Comment 0

A massacre of aboriginal people occurred here in 1849. The details are sketchy. Even so, I think having memorials is a positive thing for reconciliation. 

You can read more here.

A council building from 1913.
Heart 6 Comment 0

The building is next to the caravan park. 

I went to the bakery and had a yummy Thai green chicken curry pie and a coffee to warm up.

Another nice patch of grass. $29.
Heart 5 Comment 0
For a reason unknown to me, these bees liked hanging out in the camp kitchen. I couldn't see a swarm or a hive.
Heart 1 Comment 0

This camp ground is for sale for $2.2 million. I'd love to live in a town like this but I'm a little cash poor for such an investment. 

There is also a pub (not doing meals on week days), a post office, and a small supermarket.  My kinda small town.

It takes me an hour or two to do my blog every night depending on how slow I am or how slow the internet is. I really appreciate everyone contributing by liking the pics or leaving comments.

I like that people are interested in Australia and cycling. I don't do the common socials. 

I feel like I'm part of a friendly community and I thank you all for it.

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 8,208 km (5,097 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Lucy MartinThank you for sharing your journey. I am unlikely to ever see any/much of Australia but I get to enjoy its many wonders from a comfy chair with a cup of coffee every time you post. Amazing! 😊
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Lucy 😍
Reply to this comment
1 year ago