Q: Is It Really Necessary To Post The Same Old Warnings And Disclaimers In Every One Of Your Stupid Journals, Greg? A: Yes, Because Every Once In A While A New, Unsuspecting Reader Might Drop In - High Stakes Bike Touring - CycleBlaze

Q: Is It Really Necessary To Post The Same Old Warnings And Disclaimers In Every One Of Your Stupid Journals, Greg? A: Yes, Because Every Once In A While A New, Unsuspecting Reader Might Drop In

That's right, I don't want anybody to start reading this journal with unrealistic expectations.  The only thing you will find here is a personal account of one man's experiences while on a small bike trip.  Each day I will try to entertain myself with the weird, beautiful, and FUN things I see.  Then I'll report on it.  That's all I do.

With that in mind, the following is a less wordy version of my usual list of things you probably won't find herein:

  • Good photography
  • Epic daily or weekly mileages
  • Historical awareness
  • Self-discovery
  • Useful information for planning your own tour
  • International intrigue
  • Geology, anthropology, biology, physics, or any other branch of scientific knowledge
  • Analysis/review of gear or bicycle components
  • Average rate of speed, maximum speed, amount/length/degree of vertical ascent, number of hours pedaling, calories consumed, or any other data obtained from a bike computer (I don't carry one.)

Now it's time to move on to a new list.  It's a list of things you MIGHT find in this year's journal.

  • Odd punctuation, incomplete sentences, inappropriately capitalized words & phrases, and other affronts to the English language.
  • Extreme self-centeredness
  • Bizarre inner dialogues
  • A satirical review of a locally produced wine
  • Animals (if I can find them)
  • The appearance of a recurring friend or two
  • At least one reference to the new religion I invented
  • Plenty of nonsense and gibberish

"If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense." -Lewis Carroll
Heart 1 Comment 0


Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0