Chiang Dao - Fang - Frankie goes to.....the North of Thailand (2019) - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2019

Chiang Dao - Fang

I don´t think I ever bonked after only 35 km! I certainly didn´t expect today`s first half to be that demanding. And if that last long climb would have been one kilometer longer I possibly would have given up. It´s been a very hot day with permanent ups and downs and two real climbs. Plus the mentally challenging fact that there was only a very narrow or even any shoulder. Not nice with all the very fast Sunday traffic. And then, at the top of that last climb (19 km short of Chai Prakan), it was to become a complete different world. A wonderful terraced downhill followed by a gentle headwind blowing me up the now continuous wide shoulder of the 107. And my fitness can´t be all that bad as I recovered very quickly and did make it to Fang in the end. I never would have thought that while still struggling up to that aforementioned peak.

Would I do that same section again if I would be in better shape? Hard to say. The 107 certainly takes you through a beautiful part of the world and if the road would be less busy than on this Sunday afternoon it could possibly be an entirely enjoyable ride. As my photos hopefully will prove. 

All the same it was turning dark when I approached Fang, a situation I usually try to avoid. A last drink stop at the 7eleven next to the hospital trying to find a hotel on agoda but all the acceptable ones were between 3 - 5 km back the way I had just come in. So google maps was put in charge and I am happy to report it guided me to the nice Khunyuw Hotel right behind the evening market. 500 Baht for my spacious room, breakfast included.  A very challenging but in the end satisfying day comes to its end.... Cycling certainly is a very special way to travel!

Soon after Chiang Dao the climbing started
Heart 3 Comment 2
Chris WeeBan Arunothai is somewhere beyond those mountains. So is Doi Ang Kang. A 60 km ride took us the whole day.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Chris WeeI had your (and Andrea´s recommendation in my all the way but the terrain was difficult enought to me as it is right now. Probably some other day.... And having done the 75 km north of Fang now I am glad I backed off from an even more challenging route
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Yes! It is rambutan season, one of my all time favourites. Have you ever had them? Unfortunately you only seem to get the tinned ones in Europe.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A sample one for myself!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bamboo grows everywhere along the 107 and is used for any sort of building materials. From scaffolding over roofing and fencing to furniture. Very sustainable and certainly one of the answers to the CO2 crisis.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Always one of my favourite motives: men at work. This man is compiling a drying stack for the bamboo poles after splitting them
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice setting for a lot of the villages around here
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
It seems the remoter you are, the better the soups become. The ideal fuel for cyclists and they reliably take me through the day
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pretty but if you look at the minimal space left of that white line and the proximity of that car on the right you will know the cycling is conducted under permanent alert
Heart 4 Comment 0
My favourite shot of the day! These monks were attending a rocket launching festival on top of that very last climb. Very friendly, very welcoming!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wonder whether the strawberries and vegetables taste any better being allowed to grow in such an attractive environment
Heart 3 Comment 0
Approaching Fang in the late afternoon sunshine
Heart 2 Comment 0
Always looks so nice and flat on the maps...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 km (52 miles)
Total: 181 km (112 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0