Day 9: Laem Son NP - Khura Buri - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 6, 2018

Day 9: Laem Son NP - Khura Buri

One of those days I may not remember for a very long time. Nothing bad, nothing exciting. Highway 4 remains the single lane-narrow shoulder affair it has been since leaving La-Un. I do remember very well rolling along here 8 years ago and the road itself wasn´t all that different. But the amount of traffic was. And more importantly: The vegetation was. The big money in South East Asian seems to be made by palmoil nowadays and these plantations are growing like cancer. Destroying any healthy natural environment and what annoys me most is the hypocrisy back home in Europe: They sell it as bio-diesel and make us believe we are doing a good thing riding our cars with that stuff. Go and ask the Orang Utans or Proboscis Monkeys on Borneo what they think about it...

As the forecast predicted heavy downpours for the afternoon I didn´t mind the monotony of the ride too much. The undulating terrain with only one real climb around highway-km 659 allowed for a swift approach of Khuri Buri and I was delighted to see the basic bungalows I know from my early travels into Thailand almost 30 years ago do still exist. If I do stay for just one night I am happy with anything clean, preferrably mosquito free and some sort of terrace where I can sit after my shower and do photos and blog. All checks at the Country Hut Riverside Inn (what a name!). The young Thai couple running it (Am and Tom) were most welcoming and I consider it a good choice. All the same. if you wish to have a bit more comfort go for the a/c - fridge - TV - bungalows just across the river at the Kuraburi Resort. I particularly liked bungalow no. 6 with maximum privacy and river view. Looked like great value for 600 Baht. By the way, I am paying 290.

Along the #1037. One of the stilt villages at high tide
Heart 3 Comment 0
That´s what most of Hway 4 used to look like when I came along here almost a decade ago. Now...
Heart 2 Comment 0
...the palmoil plantations are taking over and only some attractive spirit houses can encourage me to take a photo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mind you there is still enough attractive flora along the way
Heart 3 Comment 0
When I was in Ban Ao Khoei yesterday the local fishermen came home with probably 2 kg of fish after a long night out. Here at the Khura Buri Fishery Port any single of the dozens of trawlers brought in tons of fish. How long will the commercial fishing industry take to eliminate the fish and fishermen populations?
Heart 1 Comment 0
At least the cold chain seems to be part of their concern
Heart 2 Comment 0
The culprits
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the fishery pier in Khura Buri
Heart 2 Comment 0
Like in the good old times!
Heart 3 Comment 0
The mosquito nets seem to almost have disappeared and are such a reliable night saver
Heart 2 Comment 0
No fridge - no problem. Any 7eleven does sell a bag of ice (nahm kaeng) for 8 Baht and that will keep your drinks cool for at least 3 hours
Heart 4 Comment 0
Laem Son NP - Khura Buri
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 673 km (418 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0