Day 1: Hua Hin to Sam Roi Yot Beach - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

October 21, 2018

Day 1: Hua Hin to Sam Roi Yot Beach

One of the reasons I would have loved to start in the very north is the weather pattern at that time of year. The northeastern monsoon (=winter season) usually picks up from mid-October with perfect cycling conditions up there while the southeast of the country remains much wetter until the end of the year. Anyways, I had to go through it at some stage, as the bike will stay with my friend and bike shop owner Faizal on Penang while I will be in New Zealand for 3 months from December. At least I do now have the time to sit out those tropical depressions if they should hit land, which one did soon after my arrival in Hua Hin. The forecast was for more rain and storm today but in the end I made it to Sam Roi Yot with dry feet. 

I love this section, in particular as they have opened that lovely cycle track commencing at the southern outskirts of Hua Hin taking me to the coastal turnoff, rural road #1019. All that has been said whileI came along here last April though. The only change of route today was a sidekick to the Khao Tao temple just south of Hua Hin.

The rest was delightful cycling along the rather rough sea and my destination was once again the Blue Beach Resort, where a private bungalow with breakfast came for the off-season price of 650 Baht.

That´s how I like my first breakfast: pineapple (in Thai: sapparott); pomeloes (som o) and sweet sticky rice with mango (khao niau, ma muang)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Leaving Hua Hin on the particularly well marked cycle track, running directly next to Hway 4
Heart 4 Comment 0
The more rods the better. Along Khao Tao Lake.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Approaching the Khao Tao temple
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not a happy monk
Heart 5 Comment 0
The seafront of the temple
Heart 3 Comment 0
Pineapples aplenty in this particular area
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like riding on Sundays as it is the big travel day for Thai people. They usually turn up in huge groups but never are a bother.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sunday lunch - always in the shade
Heart 4 Comment 0
Khao Kalok Beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pran Buri Beach with the delightful remainders of the rainy season
Heart 4 Comment 0
As I said, they do prefer travelling in groups
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sam Roi Yot Beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
My bungalow at the Blue Beach Resort
Heart 1 Comment 0
The terrace
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hua Hin - Sam Roi Yot Beach in a larger scale for those of you, who are not familiar with the area
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 54 km (34 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Henna JanieschKeep rolling, Frankie. Take care and safe trip.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Henna JanieschThank you very much, Helmut!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago