Day trip to Don Khon - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

January 16, 2018

Day trip to Don Khon

I know it is a bit confusing, but Don Khon (sometimes spelled Khone) is a different island to Don Khong. You get there over a former railway bridge from Don Det, built during the French colonial times. The good news for any cyclist: Until the end of 2017 they used to charge a steep 35000 kip to go over but that has been entirely skipped. The south of Don Det really seems to be the ideal location if you wish to explore the two most southern islands for a few days. It´s far less touristy down here than up in the North but due to the bridge things are still happening. Sitting on the terrace of the Mekong Dream GH is almost like being in a cinema. And a very colourful movie it is they are playing.

My only task for today was to organize my transport back to the mainland. One of the options was to go down to Ban Hang Khon on the very southern tip of Don Khon and get a boat over to Veun Kham, the border crossing into Cambodia. I did enjoy the ride down there today but only because I had no luggage with me. Terrible condition of both tracks and I was already less enthusiastic about this option when I got the the shed selling the boat trips. I asked about the price for a one way ride and they wouldn´t come down from 150000 kip which is a huge amount here in Laos. No need to book anything in advance so I decided to go back to Don Det to look into my other options. There is one pub called King Khong run by an Englishman who had been suggested to me for any inquiries on Don Det. Nice guy and he offered me a ride over to Nakasong for 70000. Still too much I thought knowing a bit about the ferry prices by now. Coming back to my guesthouse I asked the owner Hom and he made a quick telephone call resulting in a 35000 kip offer, pickup at the guesthouse included. That´s more like it!

The huge terrace/balcony of the Mekong Dream Guesthouse. The far end with the solid hammocks is part of it too.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hom, the owner of the guesthouse. As you can see he even brushes his teeth in the river. Why? - "I always did"
Heart 4 Comment 0
Morning performance
Heart 4 Comment 0
Don Khon
Heart 5 Comment 0
Island track
Heart 3 Comment 0
View from Ban Hang Khon with Cambodia on the left
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back from the bridge to my guesthouse which is the second from the left
Heart 1 Comment 0
Back on Don Det with the stall of one of the many boat tour operators ahead of me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Don Det
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 2,004 km (1,244 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0