Day 87: Butterworth - Georgetown/Penang - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2018

Day 87: Butterworth - Georgetown/Penang

The last day on the road!

147 days and 3653 km after arriving in Chiang Rai on December 4 last year  I have been packing my panniers for the last time this morning. You really would believe there is one emotion clearly dominating after such an intensive experience but I somehow feel a bit of everything. I am sad it´s over as cyclo touring has become my absolute passion over the last 12 years. I am happy as I look forward to not having to pack up every morning and settling into a new acommodation at night anymore. I am proud about what I have achieved over the last 5 months: Planning such an epic trip in detail is one thing - actually doing it the other. And last but not least I feel extremely grateful and privileged having met and cycled with Jan, Bob, Andrew, Coleen and Chris (in the order of appearance) as every single one of them made the effort to come and meet me at some point along my route.

It probably took you longer to read this prologue than it took us to ride the last 10 km today. All the same, my expectations regarding this last "stage" were fully met. Heaps of time, hotel booked, a very relaxing ferry ride breaking the 10 km into two digestible halfs and South East Asia´s food capital waiting at the other end. Perfect scenario to look back at what has been the ideal start into my new life as a retiree. If the time ahead of me will be as good: Hallelujah!

I am not saying thank you for your company yet, as I consider the final days in Georgetown as part of my trip and I am hoping to be able to arouse your interest for this amazing town with some attractive photos of colonial architecture and food. Stay tuned for one more page....

The 87th and last time I am attaching those panniers to the bike on this trip
Heart 3 Comment 0
And the last preventive consumption: My favourite rehydration drinks in Malaysia, the peculiar ice cream soda and the isotonic 100plus
Heart 1 Comment 0
This trip certainly left some marks behind
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Approaching Penang
Heart 3 Comment 0
View from the 5th floor of the Hotel Mingood. It may rain nonstop from now on!
Heart 2 Comment 0
My first must-do after arrival: I have known this elderly gentleman and his stall for several years now (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAdZv9EYwkY&feature=youtu.be). Unfortunately I had to learn today his wife passed away 3 years ago but...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...his Wan Tan Mee soup still comes directly from heaven
Heart 2 Comment 0
THE mean of transport on Penang
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very Penang
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The daily afternoon turmoil on Chulia Road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our choice for dinner
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Butterworth - Georgetown/Penang
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 km (6 miles)
Total: 6,363 km (3,951 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0