Day 14: Ban Wiang Khuk - Phon Phisai - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

January 1, 2018

Day 14: Ban Wiang Khuk - Phon Phisai

Routing: # 242, 3040, 212

My plan regarding spending a quiet New Years Night materialized. At my
little resort only the family owning the place had a BBQ which I actually profited from as the son delivered a plate of prawns to my bungalow. A culinary sensation after the instant noodle soup beforehand.... At midnight I did wake up from the fireworks in the distance but only for a bathroom stop really. So well rested and fresh into the New Year with a forecast for bright sunshine and temperatures in the mid 20s C. Just perfect for cycling - I am not even talking about the wind direction anymore.

When I approached Nongkhai on the slightly longer 242 I realized people
were already (or still) out partying. This rang the alarm bells regarding my ride today. There would definitely be some of them riding their vehicles after alcohol consumption later on. When I talked to my friend Bob on the phone while having a rice soup in Nongkhai he raised that same issue and did actually provide some statistics saying most alcohol related accidents do occur between 4 and 6 pm. So it was no particular location I was aiming for today but a time frame: Find a hotel before 4 pm. You may find that silly but I simply feel better believing I have done my bit to avoid any
incidents. Whether it is bright colour jerseys, flying little flags on my right pannier or avoiding statistically relevant times.

Nothing much to report on the ride itself. Easy but unexciting approach of
Nongkhai; lovely kilometers on the 3040 east of the city and entirely uninspiring last 25 km into Phon Phisai on the broad shoulder of busy dual carriageway 212. I was surprised to see the considerable size of town and even more so their massive riverfront. Asking around for a hotel everybody pointed to the northern end of the promenade past a massive
construction site, possibly a new hotel right on the river. The promenade itself definitely improved after that. Old and fading but full of charme with delightful dense vegetation.

The Rim Fang Khong Hotel has got a block of shabby looking rooms (350 B) down towards the promenade but the new main block with the reception is directly behind it and I was more than happy with my room for 500 B. Spacious, large bathroom, fridge and a canopied little terrace at the
entrance, ideal to leave the bike. The real attraction is the promenade right in front of the hotel though. Plenty of shaded seating opportunities which makes it the ideal spot to watch the glamorous sunset. Perfect scenario to finish a good New Years Day.

Couldn´t have found any better words
Heart 2 Comment 0
What makes you recommend a resort/hotel/guesthouse? Their attractive Miss Kitty rooms? Or the friendliness of the patrons? Last night they shared their prawns with me, this morning it was sweet sticky rice with some pudding on top. Delicious!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The nice little park down at the foot of the first of the Thai-Lao Friendship Bridges
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nongkhai - big is not necessarily beautiful
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nongkhai - Chinese temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nongkhai - While taking this photo I dropped my camera. Big concern but after battery once in/out it seems to be working fine again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nongkhai
Heart 0 Comment 0
Between Nongkhai and Phon Pisai there were two larger sections with such a brand new cycletrack but unfortunately they are never continuous
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are two types of temples: nice ones and really nice ones. This is one from category 2
Heart 2 Comment 0
And the local tattoo-monk was more than happy to pose in front of his "wat suai"
Heart 0 Comment 0
I honestly wish I could show you a photo of any beautiful temple I have been to today but this is just not feasible
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even the public (literally) toilets have some flair here
Heart 2 Comment 0
Phon Phisai
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was wondering whether that clown on top is meant to be Father Christmas?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Rim Fang Khong Hotel.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
....and the promenade in front of it
Heart 3 Comment 0
And then I sat down and watched this local farmer.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
....for hours
Heart 3 Comment 0
Only once interrupted by a visit of these gorgeous young ladies
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ban Wiang Khuk - Phon Phisai
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 1,136 km (705 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0