Day 28: To Victor - Florence - Missoula - Salt Lake City 2013 - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2013

Day 28: To Victor

I got up at 7 and on the road a little after 8. The sky was overcast, temperature 60F.

On the east edge of Ashton I turned onto highway 32. It's a narrow rural highway with many rolling hills. Beautiful farm scenes and no traffic. But it was slow going because of the uphill trend and brisk headwind.

Lonely barn near Ashton.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wide open farm country.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Abandoned grain elevator.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At a T intersection I turned left on highway 33, heading straight towards the west slope of the Grand Tetons.

I had lunch at the cafe in the little farm town of Tetonia. Population 269 with 2 bars and a huge Mormon church.

Approaching the village of Tetonia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The view of the Grand Tetons steadily improved during the afternoon as I got closer and the sun moved west. The terrain is more gentle upstream between Tetonia and Driggs.

Looking east towards the Grand Tetons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tetons getting steadily closer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Driggs a bike trail starts on the west side of the highway. It continues 8 miles to Victor. It was nice to be away from the building traffic, but the trail is only 50 feet from the highway.

Grand Tetons from near Driggs.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived in Victor at 2:45 and got one of three cabins at Trail's End motel in the middle of town. $75 for my own log cabin. The motel office is a gas station/convenience store/Subway.

Downtown Victor, Idaho.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Victor is a low key tourist town only 24 miles from the ultra-posh tourist resort town of Jackson, Wyoming. It's quieter, cheaper, and much less congested on this side of the Grand Tetons.

Shortly after arriving I laid down and took a nap for a couple hours. A violent storm came through during my nap. It was great to be in a warm bed during the storm, not out on the road. Later I had dinner at the popular barbeque place across the highway.

My cabin in Victor.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a headwind all day and the route was mostly uphill, with a net elevation gain of 900 feet. Definitely more work than yesterday. The sky was mostly cloudy all day, so it was never hot.

In the evening I rested and pondered whether or not to pedal over Teton pass tomorrow. It's a 3000 foot climb and I'm not sure I'm up for it with such unstable weather and my overall state of exhaustion.

Distance: 49.4 miles (79 km)
Climbing: 1952 feet (592 m)
Average Speed: 10.1 mph (16 km/h)

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,403 miles (2,258 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0