Day 29: To Alpine, Wyoming - Florence - Missoula - Salt Lake City 2013 - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2013

Day 29: To Alpine, Wyoming

In the morning I could see giant gray clouds over the Grand Tetons to the east, but to the west was mostly blue sky. So I decided to take the easy route to the west instead of going east over Teton Pass, a 3000 foot climb.

I got on the road at 8:30. The first 5 miles is gently downhill, followed by a steep 600 foot climb to Pine Creek summit. It's mostly forested near the summit.

Pine Creek summit west of Victor, Idaho.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then a bigger descent to the Snake river valley. At 11 AM I had breakfast #2 at a cafe at the intersection of Idaho 31 and US 26.

Forested descent from Pine Creek summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Descending to the Snake river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turned left on US 26, going east, upstream along the Snake river. Problem is, the river is far enough away that I never see it. Just farms.

Long abandoned house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farm valley along the Snake river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lush creek flowing down to the Snake river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

US 26 has several big rolling hills followed by a steep climb to 200 feet above the top of Palisades dam. I never saw the Snake river until shortly before Palisades dam.

Snake River downstream from Palisades Dam.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Palisades reservoir is one of three reservoirs on the upper Snake river that store up to 1,350,000 acre-feet of water to irrigate about 10,000 farms downstream. It's a huge water storage and plumbing system.

Palisades Reservoir and US 26.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Palisades reservoir seemed about half empty. The upstream part is dry for miles.

Sometimes part of the reservoir, but dry in late summer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last two miles of today's ride is in the state of Wyoming.

State #5 on this tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Coming into Alpine I crossed the snake river and joined US 89. I could see into the Snake river canyon that I would have gone through if I had pedaled over Teton Pass.

Snake river coming out of the canyon, looking upstream towards Jackson Hole.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived in Alpine at 3:45 and got a $60 room at 3 Rivers motel. No A/C, but the room is cool. Clouds were building and a violent thunderstorm passed through from 5-5:30. I doubt I would have made it here before the storm if I had pedaled over Teton pass.

Today had a high of 82F. Very pleasant.

Now I'm back on my planned route to Salt Lake City after aborting the route through Yellowstone, then aborting the route across Teton pass.

Alpine is a small town but it has a well equipped supermarket across the highway from the motel. I ate dinner at the restaurant next door. The restaurant has a sign saying guns are welcome, and a sign saying that servicemen in uniform get a free meal.

Distance: 51.8 miles (83 km)
Climbing: 2140 feet (648 m)
Average Speed: 10.2 mph (16 km/h)

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 1,455 miles (2,342 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0