Planes and Trains: But no automobiles - The Final Leg: A Sea Cruise, Niagara Falls, and Old Ironsides - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2012

Planes and Trains: But no automobiles

Oren officially pull out today after developing a chronic sciatic nerve problem. Oren has taken very good care of himself for many years, so, as I told him, It Ain't Fair. He'll be greatly missed. See you and your bent(so long, LHT)next Fall in Utah Oren.

Oren out. Spoon in. Jerry Witherspoon that is. Actually, Spoon had been diddling about going with Oren and I for some time. Finally committed after twisting my arm to solve his logistics problems. He wants to be there this time when I pass out(long story,)and needs a drinking buddy. He's a gin head.

Spoon version = Yep, Booths, 90 proof. (Perfect martini = 1 part dry vermouth, 8 parts Booths. Yummy. Warm tummy, ahh lifeis good!)

SPOON'S VERSION: Harpo has been beggin', pleadin', and otherwise cajoling at me for a year about going with him and Oren on this merit badge hunting expedition. Many contacts, many conversations about his quest and me comin' have passed. You might say that Harpo is importunate, to use the name of an old biblical parable. What this means is that he finally wore me down. I kept throwing obstacles at him, but the sucker overcame all of them, one by one. Hell, I even suspect he kicked Oren in the butt to get him to pull out, so as to play on my sympathies!!! Then he had the gall to post a crappy picture of me, so I've added a few good ones of my own.

Gin head. Indeed; hummph!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Much more has changed. No planes/trains. That's later now. I will drive to Kansas City in my truck, pick up Spoon and his bent, thence to Milwaukee and a WS host, Paul W., a cyclecross dude. Spoon's son Jeff and bud Cal may or may not be joining us in Niagara Falls by car. We were all together in Colorado last Spring on another memorable tour.

Spoon will cycle with me at least to Niagara Falls, maybe to Rochester. I may continue to, not Boston, but Portsmouth, NH. No Old Ironsides this year. Portsmouth is a colorful coastal community north of Boston, with good exit options. Should be less hassle. I've seen Boston.

Sept 3

Off to Blue Springs, MO and Spoon's place at 6 am. 500+ solo miles drive with 40 mile detour across the Telimena Scenic Drive, Arkansas to Oklahoma. Rivals the Blue Ridge Parkway. I've cycled some of it a couple of times and intend to ride it all one day soon. Lots of steep, long climbs.

Talimena Scenic Drive
Heart 0 Comment 0

Spoon's about 5 pm for short ride about his toney neighborhood, a toddy, and dinner by wife Beverly. Spoon's son Jeff at table with us. Great hospitality. Always good to see these folks.

Toddy time heals all wounds!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sept 4

Off today about 7 for the 550 mile drive to Milwaukee through the pastoral wonders of Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin.

Even in Iowa, Kelly
Heart 0 Comment 0

The miles passing with amicable conversation, spiced with much bickering, bitching, and insults. We rolled up to our host's house about 6. Paul was not there, but had left instructions on how to let ourselves in.

Paul is a serious cyclocross racing dude when he's not teaching 7th grade terrorist at a local high school. He is a cyclocross coach also with currently 3 students. Basement filled with cycling gear of all sorts.

Lori, Paul's lovely girlfriend was a surprise bonus to our short visit. She teaches at a public Montessori school and likes running for exercise. A tandem is likely to be in their future.

Paul and Lori, our host in Milwaukee
Heart 0 Comment 0

The start for the tour has been advanced to tomorrow. The ferry leaves at noon, $90 each for this cruise. Spoon and I are anxious to be on the road east.

Daily angst: Other than Spoon, acute bronchitis that flared up before I left Texas. First attack in 8 months, a 40 year record for me. Usually 3-4/year. I continue to insist on crediting this hiatus to the addition of honey to my diet in January.

Toddy time heals all wounds!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Quiz: What scenic drive in Arkansas did I use on my drive to Kansas City?

What states did we pass thru in getting to Milwaukee?

What is a Warmshowers host?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0