May 8, 2023: Valença do Douro rest day - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2023

May 8, 2023: Valença do Douro rest day

Resting at the 'resort'

Heart 0 Comment 0

Casa Cimeira, € 75 with breakfast

Though I was up a bit later than normal last night and had eaten a tonne of food, I was still up early so was up and about before most others. I explored the property, tried to scritch a Himalayan-looking cat which kept scurrying just out of reach, then took out my tools and went over my bike to make sure everything was as it was supposed to be. Tight as required or spinning as required. Everything was fine.

Before breakfast I just sat out by the pool to listen to the birds twittering and roosters crowing down the hill. Today started out fairly relaxed. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not sure whether or not I had snapped any pics, while I sat under the cherry tree I saw these yet unripened cherries. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

People kind of trickled in at different times to eat but I ended up seeing the people who would be remaining for another night. Everyone headed out into their chosen directions, but I stuck close though I did head up to the hilltop nearest the casa. The couple from Corsica had gone yesterday and recommended the journey.

The route was steep, climbed up first a paved road and then a dirt road but the subsequent views down the terraced hills in two directions to the Douro was fabulous. More APs were taken.

It was midday so I was getting warm so decided to return to the casa where I could sit in the shade and relax. This was not before having both a nice fresh orange and mango. Miguel the owner offered a sandwich but I was no more hungry than this and knew dinner would be another extravaganza. Most of the afternoon was spent updating my journal, or reading my Jeffrey Archer in the shade by the pool. It was awesome.

Many places have their own azulejos designed with their names or their business names on them. This is the casa where I am staying. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
In the courtyard of the casa were a few local cats. This was how this one liked to sleep in the warm morning sun. It would only let me get within a half metre and would walk away and flop down again. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 0

The climb was fairly steep but absolutely beautiful

I went up the winding road above the casa to the peak of the nearest hill to check out the spectacular views below. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I went up the winding road above the casa to the peak of the nearest hill to check out the spectacular views below. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
If you look closely you can see the pin-head sized olives. By fall they will have ripened and be ready to be shaken off of the tree. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I went up the winding road above the casa to the peak of the nearest hill to check out the spectacular views below. That will be my direction tomorrow morning. -- Valença do Douro, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

At one point I saw Miguel in the tasting room scurrying about cleaning up and doing something with cases of wine. I asked what I could do to help so I was tasked with unboxing dozens of sparkling rosé wine, then applying the labels to dozens and dozens of bottles. A few times he offered me drinks but I was fine with sparkling water. I returned to the pool area to find the couple from Vancouver Island chatting with new guests from North Carolina so I joined them. Miguel soon came out with wine glasses and asked if anyone would like to try a new wine they are trying - a blend of Merlot, Cab Sauv and Tempranillo grapes. That last one convinced me since it is the grape varietal found in Rioja. I did not have much but it was really delicious.

It was fast approaching the dinner time once again so everyone returned to their rooms to get ready and rejoined in the bar area at 730 pm. Not wanting any more alcohol I had another sparkling water and now everyone was introduced to the new guests. A couple from Paris, a couple from Coimbra, Portugal, and a couple from Australia. It is amazing how everyone just blended almost immediately and when dinner started everyone was chatting like old friends.

Tonight's appetizer was a prawn and biscuit creation with a Portuguese-Asian sauce. Miguel said he likes to mix foreign flavours with the best of what Portugal has to offer. Dinner was pork loin (I think that was the cut) in a red wine and mushroom sauce with rice. Fabulous. Dessert was a red velvet cake with some type of a cheese between the layers (not like our cream cheese), a strawberry sauce drizzled over it and slices of frozen strawberries. I was already stuffed but had to have it.

Everyone headed to the bar again but this time Miguel invited everyone up to the tasting room where he opened up a huge barrel of rosé port, and using an 80 cm pipette (like what you see in photos) he took out samples for people to try. Again, I was not having any more alcohol, but everyone quite liked it, and the room was so cozy. Everyone really enjoyed themselves. Sadly, people soon started to head back to their rooms as did I. Tomorrow was a resumption of cycling.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 430 km (267 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0