May 12, 2023: Lisbon Rest Day & Walking - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2023

May 12, 2023: Lisbon Rest Day & Walking

Wrapping up the bike in my fave hotel in town

Heart 0 Comment 0

AS Lisboa, € 65 no breakfast

Thankfully I don't really like to walk (cycling is ok), otherwise there would have been a whole lot of wandering around the city today. Wait... a... minute (as Alex used to say). I DID walk a lot. I DID enjoy it. My legs and feet DON'T hurt. That is because there was no dawdling. That is what kills me.

Not being tied to breakfast hours at the hotel, I got my walking shoes on (very similar to my cycling shoes), got my walking stuff (camera, gps, passport/money, and coat) and headed out with the idea of meandering over to the Marquis of Pombal statue. On the way I was sidetracked, though, by having to take a lot of APs and then, worst of all, there was a wee little cafe that appeared to have just enough room for me to slip in for a capp and a nutella croissant.

Moments after I ordered, there was suddenly a really long line of uni students, workers, parents with young kids, and a few retirees. Some stood at the counter for their 'breakfast' while some sat at the few scrunched-in tables. That's what I did.

With a happy tummy, I continued to meander along on this beautiful crisp morning. The sun was shining and the birds singing away. Nowhere was terribly busy but you could see that the city was asking up.

On my way I passed this beautiful building. I love the style of the old stone structures. This was just up the street from the Marquis de Pombal statue. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn't realize he also engineered the golden arches! -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
And just down from the beautiful building are these ones that are structurally amazing, and now artistically intriguing. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
No, I did not have to climb up to the Marquis for the photo, but it certainly would have given great views down the Avenida da Liberdade that he envisioned and built. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

When I got to Pombal, I then made me way to Avenida da Liberdade, the wide multi-laned, multi-boulevarded tree-lined beauty that runs from here almost right to Rossio square. I think this just might be my favourite part of Lisbon and in a big part because I remember it from when our family came in 1982 while I was in high school. Memories! 

Avenida da Liberdade. Look at the stone walkways, look at the canopy of trees, look at the mottled light through the trees. There was many leaves and tree stuff strewn along the walkway, most likely due to the strong winds over the past few days. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
When the pumps are running the water runs through here as a man-made stream. It adds to the enjoyment oof strolling along Avenida da Liberdade. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Coming to the end of Liberdade and just around the corner will be Rossio square. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Of course, I took a whole bunch more APs as I made my way down the avenue. Of interest was that closer to Rossio there was a very large police presence. I asked one officer who said this is 'normal'. No , this is not normal. Shortly afterwards I saw a news truck and crew and asked them - they told me their were some sort of American-Portuguese diplomatic talks going on. That made more sense. I never did check the news to seek any further details.

Once I got to Rossio it was still nice and early so there were not too many tourists around. Nice! First in order was to get a photo of the trees and bus stop where I first snapped one in 2003 while I was cycling from Istanbul to Lisbon. Over the years I have watched the get bigger.

The nerd that I am, I have taken photos from this vantage point dating back to 2003 when the trees were much smaller. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
These little temporary huts were very numerous in Rossio and there were a number of them at Alameda Park, too. They sold drins, snacks, food, flowers. tourist stuff... I just hope they eventually move back into the beautiful stone buildings once all of the construction is done. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

All through the centre of Rossio over the stone 'waves' were many temporary commercial booths selling flowers, snacks, drinks, trinkets - all the things that the little shops should be doing. They were kind of cute but I hope they eventually migrate back to the permanent buildings once the construction is completed.

A seafaring nation, many of their squares have these waves of black stone in the white seas. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Next was down to the cafe/bar on the south side of Rossio. I ordered a capp and sat there watching the tourists materialize. I 'toasted'  Lisbon specifically and Portugal in general, thankful for another super experience cycling the countryside. It is amazing how all of the excitement builds up for so long, then finally there, the time flies past and it's all over.

The little cafe/bar at the south side of Rossio Square. I ordered a capp as a farewell to Portugal. For now, that is. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
My see you next time capp at the south side of Rossio Square. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I wanted to wander some more before it got too warm out (remember, I had my coat with me) and before the crowds got too big. I wandered through the Baixa as I headed to the estuary to listen to the waves. Yes, waves. It was really windy out so even in the estuary the winds were pushing the water up onto the sand. Imagine what it must be like on the coast where the wind can really drive up the waves.

So interesting to see how they display things. Here is a fortune in Port wine, some of them dates back to the 1930s and were up to 1000+ Euros per bottle. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not only Port is displayed, but lots and lots of sweet goodies. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Everyone knows pasteis de nata = Portugal. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Porcelain tiles of various Lisbon scenes. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wandered the narrow streets of the Baixa and headed to Praça do Comércio. The estuary is just across the road from the huge square. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Whether from a bottle of wine, photos of the city or from having been there, these trolleys are a well-known sight in this part of the city. Tourists were lined up in the hundreds waiting to get onto one. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Peeking into Praça do Comércio. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now these are some real arches, along the Praça do Comércio. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I stumbled onto this image as I sat on a stone ledge overlooking the estuary. I was taking a photo of the bridge when the ferry and the seagull helped to step up the Artsy in this Photo. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Possibly the final sight of this little fellow, Pookie, on this tour. This photo is for you, Alex! -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The statue looks small in the photo but is huge. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Though just on the estuary and not open to the open sea, the waves were crashing onto the beach. The wind has been very strong the past few days. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then I decided it was time to head over to the Alfama, up past the cathedral, and the lookout points that give a bird's eye view of the Alfama, and the city out to the bridge. It was fun to turn kind of randomly and just get buried in the Alfama district with its tiny, narrow, winding streets that were often steeper than a staircase and sometimes were staircases.

Climbing up to and past the Sé cathedral. As in many parts of the city right now, all kinds of work being done on and around the cathedral. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the way past the cathedral is this massive tree which must have a diameter of about 4 m. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
A nice spot to sit in the shade of the grapevines and look across the Alfama and out across the estuary. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
And an AP to prove it, cunningly taken through the overhanging grapevines. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
São Vicente with miniature ship in-hand. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
It must have been fun building this twisted tangle of houses in the Alfama. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
More views up to the top of the hill in the Alfama. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Around St Vincent the tourist numbers were strarting to increase so I headed away and through some back streets. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
An AP in the Alfama. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some parts of the Alfama (and the city in general) are a bit scruffier with litter about, some tiles missing and cracks in the structures. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The castle perched on the mountain top overlooks the city and estuary and continues to stand guard. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The humming bridge crosses from the city proper to districts across the estuary giving acces to numerous beaches and the cities of Setubal and Sesimbra. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was nobody around some of these really remote sections of the Alfama. Though I don't really like graffiiti, this seemed kind of interesting and definitely conveys how it looks around this area. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
What a nightmare to drive here. Some cars are parked, some are trying to move, some are delivering. Patience must be exercised here. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
A rather haunting photo of the old now-unsed trolley tracks. This road is very steep so it must have been quite the struggle for the little trolley that could. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was starting to get warm, a bit tired, and the number of tourists had greatly increased so some areas were quite crowded. At one point I saw a lineup of tourists waiting at the trolley stop - there must have been a few hundred of them. Oy! 

Many cities now have communal bicycles and communal scooters to jump on and jump off. Lots of them are used and busy sections of the city have big depots of the units ready to go. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The old style of sign is very attractive. This is th square adjacent to Rossio, but I didn't notice any available figs - I think they're out of season. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I hadn't taken a photo of the entrance to my farewell cafe so here it is, at Rossio. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I came back to Rossio hoping that the fountains would have been turned on, but no luck. I took the photo anyway, and I think it is still really atttractive. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Walking along Avenida Almirante Reis, a number of spots had these sailing ships designed right into the cobbled walkways. That is a lot of work, but of course, as we know from the Romans... this stuff will last. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Knowing I wouldn't come back later, I went back through a very busy Praça da Figueira, Rossio square and then sought out my street to walk all the way back to the hotel.

I always enjoy seeing what is available in fresh markets, whether fruit, veggies, meat or fish. These were all along my walk back to the hotel. -- Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 0

I got back to the hotel around noon, and now it was time. Time for what, you might ask? Time to disassemble the bike and pack it into its travel case. Front wheel off. Front fender off. Pedals off. Seat lowered. Handlebars off. all of those parts intertwined with the leftover bike frame and bits, and strapped or tied to make one big slightly-wobbly bike-thing that I could lift up and then lower right into its box. I padded around the bike then, after making sure I had all that I would need for tomorrow's flight, I strapped the box closed, then wrapped it in plastic film for the extra box protection. I had stopped at the Mini Preço supermarket on the way back for the plastic film... and a Milka!

My last meal was a late lunch or early dinner. I had searched for a nearby restaurant and found a listing for one not too far from the hotel that seemed very local. It definitely was. I ordered a hamburger, remembering the tasty one I'd had in 1982. They do magic on their burgers. What came was a hamburger patty with a fried egg on it, some fried potaots, and then a pineapple Sumol. Let's just say the place did magic on this burger. It was absolutely delicious. Great choice.

On my way back to the hotel I noticed how much the wind had come up (forecasts were for gusts to 57 km/h) and straight from the north as it seems a cold front was coming in.

I wandered the Alameda park a bit but soon headed back to the hotel where I organized my things for tomorrow then rested, dozed and read the next Clifton novel by Jeffrey Archer.

Today's ride: 16 km (10 miles)
Total: 512 km (318 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen ClassenFantastic photos!!!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Brent IrvineTo Kathleen ClassenThank you!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago