To The Rock - Sights Set On Morocco (Under A Hot Sun) - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2014

To The Rock

Its raining when I first stir from sleep this morning. Though it goes without saying, it sounds a lot worse inside a tent than it actually is. My new tent feels like being in a house anyway; it can rain all it likes until its time to pack up camp and leave. The jumbo oats make really nice porridge easily without any danger of burning, a problem because the flame cannot be turned down on the alcohol stove. While eating, the trucks can be heard driving up to the quarry from eight onwards; and by quarter to nine, when it has long stopped raining, I make it down the hill to the road after one has gone up pass, anxious not to meet another and be seen.

The legs feel a little stiff this morning, not helped by the lumpy surface on this minor road. With deviations and bumps, which aren't easy to see in time, jarring the front wheel and sending a rough shudders through me, while knocking the bike off a smooth line forward. Tipperary, or this part of the county is extremely hilly. There's no end of slow climbing, then quick descends to climb yet again. And there's a lot of forestry with one village I pass through dominated by it's sawmill.

I have to check the map at every turning, to make sure to keep on the right road. I make it to the crossroads village of Dundrum, a nice big green with an old pub, a row of period houses and a petrol station, but I'm unsure of the road onward because it isn't signposted. It looks most likely the road straight across, so I continue. Its a car wide and about a quarter of a mile in, I meet a woman walking her dog.

The dog, a Doberman on a long leash stretches forward and sniffs, then decides I'm no danger. I ask "can I take this road to Cashel" She replies, affirmative. "Its a long way by bike." "How far is it?" "Eight kil-hometers" she replies aping American; to which I say, "that isn't far."

Not far if you know the way that is. After a mile along this narrow lane, I come to a tee, where nothing is signposted. I reckon left, as right looks to lead back to the main road to Tipperary town, the right turning back in the village. There come another tee and somehow I navigate in the right direction. Then I pass a sign, Cashel 8 KM, pointing ahead, and a sign on the same post, Dundrum 8 KM, pointing back. The woman was quite a bit out with her estimation I thought. Sixteen kay is a lot longer than I expected. I was looking forward to a lunch stop sooner.

A welcome first sight of, The Rock of Cashel, after a tiring morning on the bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I come out of Supervalu on the main street in Cashel to a hail of cold raindrops. The last thing I need after shopping for a picnic lunch. I make across the street into a car park and spot a bike parking bay under a curved perplex roof. I push the bike inside and set out lunch therein.

It soon stops raining and the sun breaks through again. On an interpretation board outside the shelter, there's a map titled "Cashel Kilkenny Scenic Drive" with a route marked, which I easily relate to my Michelin map.

I remain in Cashel until five o'clock; having a look at the town's tourist attraction, The Rock with walled citadel on top. Then back into town to a café for tea before heading off.

Another view after lunchtime.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gallic Football mural.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Cashel with a view over the town's GAA ground.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Like a snake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was raining off to the left; luckily I didn't catch any.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dusk after a wet afternoon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 km (53 miles)
Total: 933 km (579 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0