Cold Mountain: Villablino to beyond Robla. - Sights Set On Morocco (Under A Hot Sun) - CycleBlaze

December 7, 2014

Cold Mountain: Villablino to beyond Robla.

The first hour is all climbing. And brutally cold as the valley remains in shade. The mountains have a dusting of snow after yesterday's rain and I feel foolish to be on this road so late in the season.

The last I see of the Sil.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I consult the map and see a turning and what looks like a days ride down to the coast. Soon I'm in the village where the turnoff is. locals look out from the warmth of a café, perplexed to see a cyclist, as I stop and look at the map again. I reconsider when I notice a high-pass marked on that road, meaning I would be getting even colder than I already am; deciding to remain on CL626, straight on.

Broken cloud is lifting leaving clear sky, but the sun is taking a long time rising above the rim of hills to the right. Once it does around eleven thirty, its ray rapidly warm me up; fitting, as the way begins a steady downhill alongside Rio Luna. Soon I see the masks of an impressive viaduct ahead, which carries the motorway across a reservoir and for a few hours in early afternoon CL626 skirts around the turquoise waters of a deep flooded valley.

Leaving the village where I decided against a left turn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cheap air travel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road descending along Rio Luna.
Heart 0 Comment 0
By the Autopista.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I reach La Magdalena around four-thirtyish. I was expecting a large place with at least one café open where I could stop; but it is a one street town with only a petrol station. I say so because it seems like the north of England in Winter instead of Spain. The old codger in the petrol station shop tries to short change me, giving me back only a five euro note when I gave him a twenty for my purchase of two cans of beer and a bag of crisps coming to four ten. He first maintains I only handed him a ten, but I stick to my guns and the chancer recedes, handing me back the ten he is holding back.

Beyond town I take the left turn for Robla and there follows a climb, then cresting the hill a steep descend into a valley clad in pine plantation, but dominated by smokestacks. When I get as far there's a big mine on the way into town and although a sizable town, Robla is dwarfed by fat grain-silo-like concrete hulks of a massive cement factory looming in the background; and on the bridge over the train lines, I glance right along the multiple of tracks and the view is dominated by potbelly cooling towers. The town centre is nice with lots of cafes full of Sunday café-goers. But as it is nearing dusk I need to continue.

While checking out a place to camp,
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 9,367 km (5,817 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0