Day 41: A Day Underground - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 19, 1983

Day 41: A Day Underground

Day 41: Sunday, 19 June 1983

Start: Field along the road, Soultz, France

End: Campground, Lembach, France

Up early in the meadow so I can pack the tent and pedal to the Maginot tour in plenty of time. Breakfast of bread, apple, banana, and OJ on the fly.

At Schoenenbourg I expected a handful of people for the tour, but it is absolutely mobbed with hundreds and hundreds of visitors. Fortunately, I find a safe place to store Bob and gear, and I'm the very first one in line.

A very impressive tour underground for two and a half hours. [2010 Note: My 1983 journal goes on and on about the tour of the Maginot ouvrage, but I'm omitting that.]

Afterwards, feeling really happy about the subterranean inspection, I'm back on the road when I unexpectedly encounter another ouvrage open for a guided tour. I'm in the heart of the main French defensive installations, and today seems to be tour day. I can't resist, so I park Bob and go on an hour and a half underground tour of the grand ouvrage near Lembach. [2010 Note: More descriptions of French defenses omitted.]

Over a month into the expedition and the Maginot Line is the most exciting historical site I've encountered. Much cooler than the Parthenon. I probably shouldn't mention to anyone my pathetic lack of interest in culture.

Conditions 

Distance: 50 km  

Weather: Very cool, cloudy, strong wind now coming out of ENE 

Road: Good 

Traffic: Light, except for crowds around ouvrages 

Terrain: Hills 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: Knee better

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 2,702 km (1,678 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0