Day 42: Pedaling into Industrial Germany - Athens to London in 1983 - CycleBlaze

June 20, 1983

Day 42: Pedaling into Industrial Germany

Day 42: Monday, 20 June 1983

Start: Campground, Lembach, France

End: Hostel, Weiskirchen, Germany

Last night I ended up at a campground not far from the second ouvrage. Only rode about 50 kilometers yesterday, but that's not bad considering I spent most of the day on underground tours.

Damp night and morning, so delayed breaking camp until tent dried a little. Decided to try to make up some distance today. Weather finally warmed up and the wind shifted so it is mostly in my favor. Riding is all ups and downs through hilly terrain, but I maintain pretty good pace. Through Bitche. Stopped to cash travellers checks, mail postcards and package of Maginot books. Bob had not been happy about his transformation into a mobile library. Bought a load of food, but consuming it fast. Devoured picnic lunch along the road beside a Franco-Prussian War memorial and cemetery. 

Charged across the river and into Germany at Saarguemines. Exchange rate is 2.5 Deutschmarks to the US dollar. Followed the river north to Saarbrucken. Got mildly lost for a short time in the urban area but soon sorted it out. Ate the remainder of my food supplies on the roadside. The road not too bad, but I'm having trouble locating the German equivalents of French bakeries and food shops along the way. Too industrialized. Everything gray and sooty and uninviting. No sign of campgrounds. Sorry folks, but this area is kind of ugly. 

I changed course and tried to reach the Mosel River valley. Too much traffic. Can't find anywhere to buy food. Getting late. I break out my emergency chocolate bars, knowing they will give me an instant energy boost but I'll pay for it afterwards and bonk big-time. Getting dark. Strap on Belt Beacon and mount Wonder Light. Fortunately, batteries not dead yet.

Finally, just as I was starting to think I might have to sleep in a parking lot behind a warehouse, I found the youth hostel at Weiskirchen. That was a relief, but the hostel is overrun with young children on some kind of overnight outing. They are an exceedingly rude, noisy, and messy lot. 

The hostel warden gave me some bread and jam, and I'm heading straight for the sack.

Conditions 

Distance: 137 km  

Weather: Warmer, some tailwinds 

Road: Some good, some not so good 

Traffic: Some light, some crowded 

Terrain: Some up, some down 

Mechanical: All is well 

Physical: All is well

Today's ride: 137 km (85 miles)
Total: 2,839 km (1,763 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0