Acclimatizing myself to Canal life - 566 miles, 9 days, 1 iPhone: eastward along the Erie Canal - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2017

Acclimatizing myself to Canal life

I'm dining on a backpacker meal at a city park in Albion NY waiting for the sun to start its path down below the horizon so I can set up my hammock. Thanks to the Albion police department, they granted permission to sleep out overnight in the park. They even alerted the "midnight shift" I would be there. So about the day - the paved paths getting to Tonawanda were a bit rough with the tree roots pushing up the path. Makes for a bumpy trail. That, and the amount of broken glass (and yes, I did have to fix a flat 10 miles into the trip) made me happy to hit the canal at Tonawanda. It's not all doom and gloom, mind you. The ride along the Buffalo river is quite scenic, and the wind was blowing well all morning.

Cycling along the Buffalo river. That "fort-like" object on the horizon (in the lake) is the water intake building for the city of Buffalo
Heart 0 Comment 0

My original route followed a bike path on an island in the river, but it was closed, and closed with chain link fence (normally I would take my chances and ride around it). So, it's back to the surface streets I go. A car stops me and asks me how to get to Niagara Falls - guess they didn't realize I was not from around here.

Have to admit the view along the river approaching Tonawanda was a treat
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rolled into Tonawanda in the morning, and the wind died down as soon as I started to turn east and head inland. Rolling through Tonawanda, there were several boat owners tied up alongside the quay and working on their boats. Someday that may very well be me...

Tonawanda!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I alternately connect bike paths and streets rrolling into Lockport. There's a farmer's market set up adjacent to the canal, and I walk through seeing what I can pick up for lunch late in the morning. "Hey Tiger, where ya headed?" one of the vendors asks me, and engages me in conversation about the tour and gives me a complementary ticket to a wine tasting. Too bad it's off my route.

The first lock of the "Flight of Five" which raised Canal boats through a series of five locks lifting them 60'
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Middleport. Apparently there was a gathering of boats there. I didn't see much other water-borne traffic as I ride along the canal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here I am in front of a typical canal bridge leading into town (this one at Medina). The entire bridge platform lifts, and there are stairs at either end so pedestrians can cross even when the bridge up or down.
Heart 0 Comment 0


Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 71 miles (114 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0