Syracuse to Utica - Brown's Folly - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2021

Syracuse to Utica

   You ride the median out of Syracuse on the road that leads to Rome. Another great riding day. I met Connie and Ed from Colorado who were doing a tour across America. We rode together awhile, missing the turn outside of Rome together. Another signage issue, this one was dangerous. We ended up on a multilane road. We crossed the highway and road sidewalks, hopped curbs till we could get off the highway. Hopping curbs is not easy with a fully loaded bike. I stopped in Rome and checked out Fort Stanwyck.

Heart 0 Comment 0

 The Coloradoans rode on, looking for a campsite.

   I pedaled to Utica and rode to the Fairfield Inn to see how many points it would take to spend the evening. My points were running low and I wanted to be conservative. I stayed in the Days Inn across the road for $104.

   My brother-in-law is from Utica and he always talks up the Tomato Pie and the Chicken Riggies as the local dishes. I ended up in Tavolo for dinner and ordered the Chicken Riggie.

Ckicken Riggies, Utica's finest
Heart 0 Comment 0

 It was okay, basically chicken rigatoni in a spicy tomato sauce with some green pepper. Nothing I couldn’t make myself. Tomato Pie is a Sicilian pizza without mozzarella that the Uticans eat cold, go figure. 66.3 miles for the day my knees were achy. I iced them up using the plastic bag that lines the ice bucket.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 274 miles (441 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou’re really putting in a lot of miles!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago