Weedsport to Syracuse - Brown's Folly - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2021

Weedsport to Syracuse

   The end of the ride was great, once I found the trail continuation over the pedestrian bridge hidden behind the State Fair electronic billboard. I rolled over bridges,

Heart 0 Comment 0

 alongside lakes and creeks, winding through gentrifying neighborhoods into Clinton Square, the heart of Syracuse.

   I nabbed a Marriott Residence Inn for less points then the adjacent Courtyard. I texted the Philly Boys that the Marriott downtown had decent prices. They booked a room. Marriott has a bunch of properties called Downtown. The boys booked in an old classic hotel with a grand lobby a few blocks away, I was in the Downtown-Armory property that was more contemporary. My space was great, the neighborhood was great, I had a decent Mexican lunch after I asked the server for the lunch menu.

I was in room 538
Heart 0 Comment 0

   Syracuse was setting up for a concert  in Clinton Square by the 90’s grunge band Sponge. By the time I arrived at the Erie Canal Museum at 4 o’clock, it was closed. So I rode around checking out the architecture. The opening act and Sponge were pretty good, the crowd was sparse. The Civil War Memorial made a nice perch to watch the crowd. 

Sponge
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was one older guy in a leisure suit and black baseball cap that almost everyone in the park came over and shook his hand. I mean everyone, black, white, Latino, young, old. I was going to ask him who he was, but some people don’t like to be observed.

   I nabbed some dinner at Pastabilities, short ribs over pappardelle. It was pretty good, a little too much salt on the short ribs and a bit spendy as the young folks say. The room was loud but at least Syracuse was alive.

    I met the boys at an Irish bar under their hotel and watched a little of the Philly vs. Yankees game, appropriately. I got a little turned around leaving the bar and the ‘hood got a little industrial. I readjusted and made it back to safe harbor. Great day, great weather 28.7 miles and the Yankees won.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 208 miles (335 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0