Preparations: Charting a Course - For A Few Advils Less - CycleBlaze

Preparations: Charting a Course

Since I initially planned to ride to DC, I spent a couple of evenings charting a course through central Pennsylvania. By changing the destination to Albany, I greatly simplified my planning.

Other than simply improvising a route, I had four options for at least part of the trip. I could take the Erie Canal towpath as far as I possible. I could follow the Adventure Cycling Northern Tier route, I could follow New York State Bicycle Route 5, or some combination of the three. The Erie Canal path supposedly has many sections with tree roots or gravel which I suspect will not be kind to me or my bike. I don't have the Northern Tier map so that is out. So I emailed the New York State DOT bicycle coordinator who sent me a detailed map of Route 5 (and a couple of others that I won't be using this year). I also sent away for free Erie Canal literature.

For additional insights I skimmed the journals of Dale Oswald and the Garringers. Dale graciously sent me an email telling me about some camping and routing options and offered to put me up for a night.

I also second Dale Oswald's recommendation of the book, Cycling along the Canals of New York, by Louis Rossi. (See http://www.vitessepress.com/catalog/canals.html). Unfortunately, I received this book as a Christmas present from my sister Margaret after my ride. Although somewhat dated (it was publiched in 1998), it provides excellent historical details on New York State canals (Erie, Champlain, and others) past and present. It also provides some information about New York State Bike Routes 5 and 9.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0