Helle --> Evje - Head Down, Chain Right: Riding South From Norway - CycleBlaze

Helle --> Evje

A windy day on the strawberry farm

I woke up early at the strawberry farm campsite. At 7:00, the sun crested the steep walls of the Otra River Valley and started beating down on my tent. Unfortunatly when I got out of my tent, I noticed that what I thought had been dew drops dripping off the tree above me was actually bird shit. I moved my tent from under the tree, took my rainfly off, and washed it in the river only a few steps from my campsite. At least it was a warm morning, so things were drying quickly.

Early Morning on the Otra River
Heart 6 Comment 0

I made my way into the shipping container kitchen to cook up my leftover sandwich material for breakfast. I was able to use the oven to toast up my bread and cheese. 

Breakfast
Heart 4 Comment 1

After breakfast, I made my way over to the owner's house to pay for my campsite. He was already outside, and I paid 180NOK for the campsite, and 200NOK for 4 baskets of strawberries. The one I had eaten last night was so good, I figured I'd have some more. The farm workers on the property had just picked them minutes before, and they were fresh and sweet.

Best strawberries in Norway, shoutout Via Ferrata Farms and Campground
Heart 4 Comment 2
Stephanie GreeneRivals Terries Berries!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Erik BruennerTo Stephanie GreeneNot quite, but still very good 👌. Strawberries are the only local produce I can find anywhere. Even at the grocery stores, fresh produce is kinda sparse and sad looking
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Before heading back to my campsite to pack up, I asked the owner if I could use one of his paddle boards out by his boat ramp. He said "Sure, but be careful, the water is really cold". I heeded his warning and took the largest paddleboard he had, an 11'6" to ensure I was as stable as possible. I paddled about 1.5 miles up river, and got a good view of the valley upstream. While I was paddling, the owner drove by on his boat. He was running a rock climbing tour service on the side, shuttling people to a climbing spot only accessible by boat. 

I paddled back to camp, packed up, and hit the road. I optimistically planned to make it almost all the way to Kristiansand, but right as I was about to leave, the wind started blowing hard in the opposite direction I had to bike. Once on cycle route 2, I realized that even though it was flat, I was peddaling in my small chainring going about half as fast as I would without a headwind. The whitecaps on the surface of Byglandsfjorden was a reminder of this.

Miles of Gravel in the Otra River Valley, off the main highwayt
Heart 6 Comment 0
Mo' Gravel
Heart 5 Comment 0
Wind on Byglandsfjorden
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crossing oven and old loch
Heart 5 Comment 0
Mo' views
Heart 4 Comment 1
Margie ThompsonAlways nice to travel along the river, glad the current wasn't too strong while on the board. Yes the strawberries looked great I would of attacked them also.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

By the time I made it to the Coop Prix in Byglandsfjord (the first food stop on my route) I was exhausted and had already bonked. I bought an assortment of random crap food that 8 year old me would have been proud of. One of these items was a "Tex Mex" burrito. Curious as to what the Norwegians thought tex mex food was, I bought it. It turned out to be the most white trash thing I had ever seen: a burrito filled with taco meat and cole slaw. It tasted surprisingly decent, but it may have been that I was really hungry.

Norwegian Tex Mex and other crap food
Heart 5 Comment 0

I ate my food on a picnic table behind the store overlooking Lake Byglandsfjorden.  The wind was still blowing hard up-canyon. I decided I would ride to the nearest campground and spend the night there. My legs were tired, and trying to put in long miles in a headwind felt futile.

Upon checking into Odden Camp, the receptionist said I was the first American he had ever seen check into the campground. I felt honored.

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 380 miles (612 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Bernd BruennerGreat to be first one from the US to make it there!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Erik BruennerTo Bernd BruennerGotta represent πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡²
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Regine Kappe-SchulzHi Eric, looking forward to see you in Walsrode! πŸ‘πŸ˜Š
Regine
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Mark SoggeHey, any day that starts with bird shit and includes cole slaw in a burrito can't be ALL bad!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Margie ThompsonYea, not too crazy about the their burritos either
Reply to this comment
10 months ago