Day 12: Bridgeport to Alliance and Carhenge - The Empty Middle 2015 - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2015

Day 12: Bridgeport to Alliance and Carhenge

I slept until 8:30 and got a breakfast sandwich from a gas station. Away from the motel just before the 11 AM checkout time. Once again I waited for the temperature to rise (it didn't) and took it easy because this will be a short day.

On the way out of town I stopped at Subway to get a sandwich to go. Finally on the road at 11:15. 52F (11C), overcast sky threatening to rain. 5-10 mph southeast wind, a tailwind most of the time.

My last crappy view of the North Platte river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Neatly organized tractor junkyard.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm now traveling north on US 385. It has moderate traffic and a paved shoulder. The road climbs a total of 500 feet to get out of the canyon of the North Platte river. The grade is fairly gentle and I went as slow as possible to avoid getting sweaty.

Most of the time US 385 is within sight of the busy Burlington Northern Santa Fe railroad. The previous two days I followed the Union Pacific railroad. Two different companies, but the coal trains look the same to me.

Starting to climb out of the river canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's nice to see cottonwood trees along stream beds.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once out of the canyon the temperature dropped from 52F to 49F and it drizzled for 2 hours. I was never warm again after the rain started.

In the tiny town of Angora I stopped to rest in a grain storage silo that was the only shelter from the rain and wind. It appears that Angora's grain elevator closed only recently. A future ghost town-population 40 and shrinking.

Ahead is the final climb out of the canyon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today US 385 is almost always in sight of the busy BNSF railroad. Nearly every train hauls coal. Full trains heading south and east to various power plants, empty trains heading north and west to coal mines in Wyoming.

Alliance, Nebraska has a big BNSF railroad switch yard and maintenance facility.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had pedaled only 37 miles when I got to Alliance. I continued through town and turned north on NE 87 to see Carhenge, 3 miles north of Alliance.

Downtown Alliance, Nebraska.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent about 20 minutes walking around Carhenge. It's private property but there is no admission fee. The gas station and gift shop were closed.

Carhenge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Unlike Cadillac Ranch in Texas, Carhenge strictly prohibits graffiti.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Unlike Stonehenge, you can walk anywhere you want at Carhenge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Carhenge is 3 miles north of Alliance, Nebraska.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Fourd Seasons departs from the all-gray theme.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just west of Amarillo, Texas is another famous car sculpture called Cadillac Ranch. It has a completely different vibe because graffiti is allowed. I've never been there. Maybe I should have gone there before the tour to have bragging rights for seeing both of the Great Plains' loony car sculptures. At the time I didn't realize how close it is to Amarillo.

Cadillac Ranch west of Amarillo, Texas. Photo found on the Internet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After leaving Carhenge I backtracked 5 miles to get a room at Alliance Hotel and Suites. A big motel, obviously a former Days Inn. $69. It looks like the building had significant hail damage.

Alliance (population 8500) is the biggest town I've seen since Guymon, Oklahoma. Surprisingly big considering that it's not on a major highway or river. It's a regional operational center for the BNSF railroad, though.

The temperature during the day was 49-52F (9-11C). Still much colder than I prefer, but at least the wind was only 5-10 mph. Unfortunately my clothes stayed damp after pedaling 2 hours in drizzle. I was very happy to strip off the wet clothes when I got the motel room.

I've now pedaled 3 consecutive days on US highways. Usually not my favorite kind of road, but in western Nebraska they have paved shoulders and moderate traffic.

Once again the cold (and now wet) weather reduced my energy level, making a short easy day seem difficult. The relentless cold cloudy weather is depressing. The Great Plains is supposed to be sunny most of the time!

Distance: 47.7 mi. (76 km)
Climbing: 1090 ft. (330 m)
Average Speed: 10.2 mph (16.3 km/h)

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 686 miles (1,104 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0