Day 11: Oshkosh to Bridgeport - The Empty Middle 2015 - CycleBlaze

October 3, 2015

Day 11: Oshkosh to Bridgeport

It was raining when I got up at 7:05. Breakfast was cereal in the room. I'm tired of diner breakfasts. The rain stopped before I got on the road at 8:40. No hurry, today will be short and flat.

The temperature was a chilly overcast 47F (8C), with a strong 15-20 mph southeast wind. I will go northwest all day.

The roads were wet at first but thankfully I never had to ride in rain. I pedaled at a very easy pace to avoid getting sweaty. Wet clothes are a huge problem when it's this cold. Fortunately there are no steep grades.

This coffee shop advertisement was on several abandoned buildings.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The new winter wheat is looking greener every day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's route is all on US 26, upstream in the floodplain of the North Platte river. Traffic was surprisingly light and the road has a wide shoulder with a well placed rumble strip.

North side of the North Platte river canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first town I passed today is Lisco. It looks like it will be a ghost town soon. No grain elevator, no businesses. Population 64 and shrinking.

Rare view looking south at the North Platte river. My only photo showing the distant south rim of the canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More of the north side of the canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's starting to look like the wild west. This scene could be in Wyoming or Montana.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Lunch was at the store in Broadwater. No restaurant, but the town seems to be surviving thanks to the store and grain elevator. Population 128.

Small town grocery stores are often called "superette". That term isn't widely used in most of the country.

Former motel in Broadwater.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautifully decayed remains of downtown Broadwater.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bed and Breakfast in Broadwater.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This former church is now a residence and "Mitchell's Guns and Ammo".
Heart 1 Comment 0
I will go to Carhenge late tomorrow. Billboards are very rare on my route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The temperature was 48F (9C) all day. I wore my rain pants, rain booties, rain jacket, and ski gloves. I didn't wear the jacket hood while riding but put it on when stopped. The wind was much stronger then.

North Platte river once again. My route is north of the river but the town of Bridgeport is south of the river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After crossing the river the Mormon Pioneer trail joins the California and Oregon trails.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Courthouse in Bridgeport.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridgeport, Nebraska.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridgeport, Nebraska.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived in Bridgeport at 2:30 and got a $53 room at Bridgeport Inn. It took me a long time to warm up in the room. I was very chilled.

Once in the motel I discovered that I left my phone charger and cable at the motel in Oshkosh. I easily found a replacement USB charger but had to go to 3 stores before I found a Micro USB cable.

Dinner was at the nearby steakhouse/grille. Bridgeport has a population of 1522, with many stores.

Today was the flattest, but also the coldest day of the tour. With a howling wind and a high of only 48F (9C), the weather once again made a very easy day seem difficult.

Distance: 50.0 mi. (80 km)
Climbing: 557 ft. (169 m)
Average Speed: 11.7 mph (18.7 km/h)

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 638 miles (1,027 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0