Day 24 - ending at Bloomfield, IA - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2017

Day 24 - ending at Bloomfield, IA

Posted via email Wed Aug 30 06:43:02 2017 PDT

I woke up with the alarm at 6:30am and got up out of my comfortable motel bed. Sent report in. Now breakfast. At 7:52am, I walked one block west to Betty's Cafe. Very good French toast breakfast, and I received a cup of ice to-go, since I'd forgotten to bring my canteen to have filled here.

I checked out of the motel at 9:23am, and headed east for more riding on IA-2. I was a little disappointed that the nice paved shoulder wasn't here east of Corydon. But it was a pleasant morning with a light north wind. My original at-home plan had me camping tonight at Sharon Bluffs State Park, just east of Centerville. Instead, now it was McGowen Recreation and Wildlife Area east of Bloomfield - about fifty miles away.

I took a break when I arrived in Promise City at 10:38am. Back at it, I rode onto a beautiful paved shoulder as I entered Appanoose County (at 11:07am)! Then, at 11:22am, I came to a rest area I had to check out - Little Flock Chapel. I picked up a brochure about the place, but see now, looking at my picture, that I left it there. Sitting on a picnic table in the shade of the pavilion, I took another break, this time to call my wife, and get caught up on home news.

On my way at 11:51am, stopping at noon to write down miles so far: 14.1 miles. I'd better quit taking so many breaks!

I arrived at the city limit sign for Centerville at 1:01pm, and shortly after left Route 2 to get downtown. At 1:25pm I happened upon a place to eat - North Side Diner, which is on the north side of the courthouse square. Their special is what I wanted - Country-fried Steak Dinner. When I figured out I had room, I added pumpkin pie. Left at 2:15pm, mostly walking to get out of the one-way streets area.

No shoulder east of Centerville, and rumble strips on the white line. Back to watching for traffic, and pulling over when necessary. At 2:59pm I passed over the Chariton River, and by 4:12pm was taking a break next to a water tower by IA-202 to Moulton. Entered Davis County at 4:36pm, and was in West Grove at 5:23pm. I was seeing horse-drawn buggies now, both enclosed and open.

East of West Grove, Route 2 is flat. Really flat! Then, to add to that, a shoulder also where US-63 joins from the south. Looks like I'm now in a tourist area, since I'm seeing outlet-type stores.

At 6:16pm, I passed the turnoff to CR-J40. I should have taken that road, I figured out later. Continuing on IA-2, I passed by the south side of Bloomfield and was on my way to the park, except I was on the wrong road to get to the park! I realized that a mile out, so turned around, and made my way to downtown Bloomfield. I had to smile when I read a city banner stating: "Bloomfield - Worth Your Time".

There's an ornate courthouse on the square, and other historic places to visit. I just wanted the road east to the campground. Found that, and made it to the campground at 7:13pm. Nice and new, with a few RV's here. Set up at the non-electric site west of site 9. A fellow at one of the RV's stopped by with the offer that I could use their campfire to cook on. Then we discussed my route. He said to stay on this road (J40) heading east.

I was registered and all set up with everything in the tent by 7:59pm. Enjoyed the evening a little, then sorted pictures, until I went to bed (at 10:10pm).

Jeff

Spent: $11.24 plus $2 (breakfast) + $5 (donation) + $13.21 plus $3 (lunch) + $5 (campsite) = $39.45.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 24 - Corydon, IA to Bloomfield, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside Betty's Cafe - Corydon, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Nodyroc Motel - Corydon, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ wind direction indicator at Corydon Airport - four miles east of Corydon, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ back to a nice shoulder on IA-2 as I enter Appanoose County +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ businesses on the north side of the courthouse square - Centerville, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north just before entering Davis County - Appanoose County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Yoder's Kountry Korner - west of Bloomfield at Ice Avenue on Route 2 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ need a chair? +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ corner of Washington and Jefferson Streets - Bloomfield, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 883 miles (1,421 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0