Day 18 - ending at Bellevue, NE - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2017

Day 18 - ending at Bellevue, NE

rode on Keystone Trail (Bellevue Loop)

Posted via email Thu Aug 24 04:59:02 2017 PDT

Jerry had my laundry ready for me (folded, no less) shortly after I was up. I took off at 6:20am for the truck stop where Jerry would meet me for breakfast. It was the first truck stop I should have stopped at, but I went past that to the second one, taking a picture of NE-2 on the way. Jerry caught up with me, and we decided to go back to Cubby's, which does full breakfasts.

Jerry let me buy his breakfast, but that's all he'd let me do to repay his hospitality. We were enjoying the conservation we were having while eating and after breakfast so much, I made Jerry late for work. He left at 7:40am, after giving me a blessing and a hug. I stayed a while longer (until 9:18am) to complete yesterday's report.

What a difference a day makes. I was continuing on north on NE-50, but now there was a nice wide shoulder, and the wind was from the south! Destination for today is Haworth Park in Bellevue, Nebraska. Last night Jerry helped me map out the best way to get there, since I'm off my planned route for today. A very pleasant morning, and I was moving along. Passed into Cass County at 10:28am, and was ready to make my turn east onto US-34 at 10:48am. Before noon I noticed a sign at a farm. I didn't get close enough for a picture because this is what it said, "No Trespassing. I own firearms . . . and a backhoe."

I took a break near the road to Nehawka at noon and recorded the morning's mileage: 20.2 miles.

At 12:40pm, I was in Union. I didn't even attempt to ride up the hill through town. Lots of old brick buildings in poor shape, but some renovations were going on.

My turn north (still following US-34, but also now on US-75) was just east of Union. Still have the wide shoulder, but it's not in the best shape. Somewhat slow going as I picked the least bumpy path.

At 2:14pm, I was at the intersection where there's a road west to the town of Murray. Here's where the shoulder for US-34/US-75 greatly improved. In fact, it couldn't be any better! Just a ways farther up the highway, I came to a BP station, where I had a mid-afternoon snack. Back to bicycling at 2:44pm.

Traffic got heavy as I neared Plattsmouth, and there were signs indicating road work ahead. The north-bound lanes merged and diverted to join the south-bound lane for crossing over the Platte River. I was busy staying in my narrow shoulder, so didn't get a picture of the river when I crossed at 3:42pm.

With newer off ramps and road, I was "painting" tracks on my GPS units where no roads were indicated. I exited US-75 to follow US-34 east at 3:57pm. It was a downhill ride to my next turn - Harlan Lewis Road. This road north was recommended by Jerry, and was also marked on my at-home routing, I see.

Harlan Lewis Road took me over Papillion Creek and brought me to a parking/access point along the "Bellevue Loop", which is an extension of the Keystone Trail. The trail is smooth concrete, and follows the top of a levee. I started on this at 4:20pm, and was at the end at 5:03pm. Met several walkers and cyclists as I went. The end of the trail is at Haworth Park in Bellevue, and that's where I wanted to be.

I was at the tent camping area at 5:14pm, and had picked out a site (Pad T-15) by 5:40pm. The reason it took me so long was that I first walked over to take a picture of the nearby bridge over the Missouri River. I plan to take that bridge tomorrow to get to Iowa.

With the tent set up, I had supper out of my lunchbox at 7:05pm. At 7:30pm I phoned my wife, and got to hear our grandson in the background. He was content, having just had his supper also.

It's a very pleasant evening here, with a hint of coolness in the air. I walked over to the campground host to pay my fee (they weren't here when I'd arrived).

Worked on picture-selection and report-writing next. I was surprised to hear 'Taps' at 10:00pm. I guess I am near a military base. I was agreeing that it was bedtime, and was sleeping myself by 10:45pm.

Jeff

Spent: $13.80 plus $5 (breakfast for Jerry and me) + $3.14 (cherry pie, chocolate milk) + $10 (campsite) = $31.94.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 18 - Syracuse, NE to Bellevue, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Cubby's Convenience Store - Syracuse, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ downtown Union, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Bellevue Loop of the Keystone Trail - Sarpy County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 652 miles (1,049 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0