West Texas 1990 - 1988-2002 Bike Tours - CycleBlaze

December 23, 1990 to January 3, 1991

West Texas 1990

Big Bend and Davis mountains

This was my second winter tour, more challenging than Florida with mountain terrain and long distances between services.

12 days, 471 miles (754 km).

Heart 0 Comment 0
River Road between Presidio and Lajitas. This was my only tour to carry a bulky 10F sleeping bag.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Road mileage is somewhat low because I also hiked 31 miles and did a 1-day raft trip through Santa Elena canyon.

I went to all the popular places at Big Bend. At Rio Grande Village I hiked the Boquillas Canyon trail, crossed to the village in Mexico, and soaked at hot springs on both sides of the river. At the Chisos Basin I hiked to Emory Peak. I pedaled the spectacular Ross Maxwell Scenic drive. I hiked the Santa Elena canyon trail and did a raft trip through the canyon.

Summit of 7825 foot Emory peak, highest peak in the Chisos mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The original plan was to do the 75 mile Davis mountains loop at the end of the tour. I aborted that plan because the summit was predicted to have freezing rain.

The weather was unusually cold when I started the tour. 20F the first night. But the weather was much warmer later in the tour. I got sunburned on a 80F New Year's eve. Camped 10 of 11 nights during this tour. Spent a cold Christmas eve at a motel in Study Butte.

For this tour I drove to Fort Davis and arranged to park my car in the sheriff's secure area. I moved to suburban Chicago 2 months after this tour. For the next 13 years I flew to all my bike tours.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0