Texas Hill Country 1990 - 1988-2002 Bike Tours - CycleBlaze

April 9, 1990 to April 19, 1990

Texas Hill Country 1990

Loops west of Austin

A meandering route to see the rivers and visit the excellent state parks in the Texas Hill Country.

12 days, 697 miles (1115 km).

Heart 0 Comment 0

This was my first bike tour to have several scenic hikes planned in advance. I hiked a total of 21 miles.

The state parks are amazing. I hiked several miles on pink granite at Inks Lake State Park. I hiked to the top and around the base of Enchanted Rock. I experienced the spring fed rivers at Blanco, Kerrville, Garner, and Guadalupe River State Parks. I hiked the canyon at Lost Maples State Park.

I also got to know the canyons of the western Hill Country. Nueces Canyon. Frio Canyon. Sabinal Canyon. Each with a clear spring fed river.

Somewhere in the Texas Hill Country.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inks Lake State Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Near the end of the tour I pedaled River Road along the Guadalupe river in a scenic canyon.

The weather was warm and sunny most of the time. Not much rain during the day but I had one very stormy night. I camped 10 nights and stayed 1 night at a hostel.

I was nearly broke at the time. I tracked expenses closely and almost managed to keep within the budget of $20 per day. Half of the daily budget was spent to camp at the state parks.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0