Texas Meander 1989 - 1988-2002 Bike Tours - CycleBlaze

March 12, 1989 to March 24, 1989

Texas Meander 1989

Fort Worth to Kerrville

There is nothing really special about this route. I merely wandered around Texas from state park to state park.

14 days, 878 miles (1405 km).

Heart 0 Comment 0
Campsite at Fort Parker State Park
Heart 1 Comment 0

This tour took me to east Texas for the first time. I found that I didn't especially like the pine forested scenery or the super-conservative culture.

When registering to camp at Fairfield Lake State Park the attendant saw my name and asked if I'm related to Michael Estes. I said yes, he's my cousin. Michael grew up in the nearby town of Fairfield.

The main tourist diversion of the tour was to ride the Texas State Railroad round trip between Rusk and Palestine State Parks. The old train was interesting but the scenery was kind of boring.

Texas State Railroad in Rusk.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingI love heritage railways and steam locomotives!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Mike AylingMike,

https://www.santafenewmexican.com/news/local_news/chama-school-trains-people-for-cumbres-toltec-operation/article_9d3dd678-160c-513b-ba5a-5bc530421336.html In Chama, you can go to school to fulfill your every steam engine train desire!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

One scenic highlight of the tour was the no-traffic park road between Bastrop and Buescher state parks northeast of Austin.

I camped 11 nights and spent 2 nights with relatives in Bryan to wait out severe thunderstorms.

The bike tour ended in Kerrville where I joined 3 friends for the 3-day Kerrville Easter Hill Country bike event.

The original plan was to make this tour a loop and pedal another 4 days from Kerrville back to my apartment in Fort Worth. But the weather turned so cold and rainy that I got a ride home in a car instead.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0