Florida 1989 - 1988-2002 Bike Tours - CycleBlaze

January 17, 1989 to February 14, 1989

Florida 1989

Jacksonville-Key West-Jacksonville

This was a 4 week escape from north Texas winter. My flattest tour ever but much longer than anything I had done before.

29 days, 1706 miles (2730 km).

Heart 0 Comment 0

I flew with the boxed bike from Dallas/Fort Worth airport to Jacksonville. Before and after the tour I stayed at the house of Charlie Fetzer who owns Lakeshore Bicycles in Jacksonville. Employees picked me up and dropped me off at the Jacksonville airport. The family's generosity was much appreciated.

I wasn't in a hurry during this tour. I visited Disney World and Epcot Center. I took a seaplane from Key West to Fort Jefferson National Monument, a remote island coastal defense fort. I spent a day visiting the museum at Kennedy Space Center. I took rest days at St. Petersburg and Daytona Beach.

My turnaround point in Key West. 90 miles from Havana.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fort Jefferson from the seaplane.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I found most of the coastal development to be extremely boring but I liked Key West, Miami Beach, and Saint Augustine. Each has a unique history and style.

I pedaled a few miles on sand at Daytona Beach, my first time to bike on a beach.

I got a ride across the Sunshine Skyway bridge which crosses the mouth of Tampa Bay. It would be a fun bridge to pedal on but bikes aren't allowed.

Rain was rare and never a nuisance. I mostly camped but had 3 nights in home stays, 1 night at a hostel, and 2 nights at motels.

Overall it was a successful tour, a great escape from winter.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0