I am too delicate for this world: Argenton-les-Vallees to Parthenay - A brush with death row - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2015

I am too delicate for this world: Argenton-les-Vallees to Parthenay

Lovely old direction post. Not many of those left these days
Heart 1 Comment 0

WHY are things so complicated? Why does nothing work the way you expect? And why don't I have a nurse to guide me gently through life with a cup of tea and a biscuit?

Take this morning, for instance. The others went off on a ride, exploring the area before spending another night at the château and then dispersing. I waved them away and made a second mug of coffee while I waited for the light frost to melt. What did I care? I had just a gentle ride to get back to the bed-and-breakfast that signalled the end of the trip. Easy.

I waved the others farewell and made myself another coffee
Heart 1 Comment 0

And so off I went, following the map clipped to my bars, wandering down quiet roads among surprised rabbits and curious cows, getting on perfectly well until the moment I went wrong. It was then that I got out the GPS, entered the coordinates of the bed-and-breakfast, and rode on left, right or straight ahead as the white arrows told me. Touring-without-thinking.

It was a lovely day. The wind blew me along, the sun shone and cats dozed in quiet villages. Blissful. Except that for all the GPS told me I had only half an hour to ride, there was no sign of Poitiers. Not even any sign for Poitiers. It's not that big a place, I admit, but there's little else to signpost and, later than it should have, the absence made itself felt.

So I stopped. I got out the map. An old-fashioned map, like we used back in the days when people expected to add up numbers without a calculator. When we still asked people the way. When pencils were still seen as perfectly feasible.

And what did I find?

Just another roundabout...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...except that this one at St-Varent celebrates cycling
Heart 1 Comment 0

I found, as by now you well know, that I wasn't anywhere near Poitiers. So I put in the numbers again, and still the GPS told me I was going the right way and that Poitiers was in a field just a little further on.

You're going to assume now that I used the wrong numbers. But I hadn't. They were the numbers which, on the GPS in the car, got me to the bed-and-breakfast effortlessly. And now the bike GPS insisted repeatedly that they were somewhere else.

Lovely! A village called Hedgehog...
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was as delighted as you'd think. I'd ridden further than I expected and yet I was still much of a day's ride from where I wanted to be. But, hey-ho for the open road... what else in my life was so pressing that I couldn't spend another day cycling? What else would I have done with the day?

I looked around Sérignac for a campground before agreeing with the GPS and passers-by that there wasn't one. There were hotels in Parthenay, much of an hour away along a grumpy road that rolled up and down unnecessarily, and that's the way I went. I'm sitting now in a hotel and looking down on people buying pizzas in the street below. In a moment, I shall go and join them.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0