08/08/23 Ellensburg to Yakima Canyon - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2023

08/08/23 Ellensburg to Yakima Canyon

Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn’t leave  Ellensburg until about 11, trying out a different coffee house and waiting for the local bike shop to open to see what things it might have that I might want. Just taking my sweet time, no point in rushing with only a short, gentle downhill ride into the Yakima Canyon planned for the day. My original idea was a 60ish mile day to Naches, with very easy grades and many miles of cycle paths but while my pains persist I’ll be doing it in small bites. The ride through the canyon was nice, pretty but not life changing. I stopped for a late lunch at a bourgeois restaurant, in the midst of a development of big, fancy houses crowded together. I’m the lone camper at the Roza campground, next to the Yakima River. It’s a popular spot where people floating down the river in rafts lashed together pull themselves to shore with beer soaked hilarity before piling into trucks and driving away. I went for a swim, the water cold and refreshing. I was a little creaky and achy in the afternoon, but definitely better than previous days. Things are looking positive. 

A piece of faded past
Heart 2 Comment 0
A pretty ride
Heart 3 Comment 0
Yakima River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Floating and fishing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Over large houses on tiny lots
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some people take their hobby very seriously
Heart 1 Comment 0
An explanation of how the canyon came to be
Heart 0 Comment 0
The real exciting stuff all happened long ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
This camper is being driven by a German couple on a two week road trip around the west. We had chatted while I was setting up camp and then they drove off. A few minutes they returned and the wife popped out with a cold beer and a grin. This is them leaving
Heart 2 Comment 0
Unexpected beer at the end of a day of cycle touring is one of life’s greatest pleasures. It has happened to me 3 times now
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 3,250 miles (5,230 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0