08/05/23 Wenatchee to Blu-Shastin RV Park - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2023

08/05/23 Wenatchee to Blu-Shastin RV Park

Heart 0 Comment 0

It took a long time to extricate myself from Wenatchee. I shopped for odds and ends, went back to the post office to collect my Kindle which arrived in the night and then sat in a bakery to finalize my route for the next few days.  I replaced my front brake pads which I’ve been wanting to do since Libby and also did some pedal maintenance. Once I was done with all that and ready to leave the pleasant morning drizzle had turned into a steady rain. I holed up in a Subway for a couple of hours until things cleared.   Such disappointing sandwiches at Subway, but it’s  good I was delayed, I used the time to find an RV park that had free tent spaces, my initial choice being fully booked. 

 I’ve decided  to aim for the White Pass Scenic Byway which goes by Mt Rainer, which should be very pretty it the smoke doesn’t mess things up.  The rain did nothing for the smoke, it’s at least as thick as yesterday. 

Followed the Apple Capitol trail out of gloomy Wenatchee
Heart 1 Comment 0
Watching the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
I let google find me a nice country road
Heart 1 Comment 0
leading to cute Cashmere, which could have been Mayberry RFD with all the white picket fences
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cashmere is also home to Aplets, which I’ve never been inclined to buy but now I want some!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Next town down the road was Dryden and the monthly Pie Social was just starting. But I had miles to go
Heart 0 Comment 0
Closed unfortunately
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nothing special about this route
Heart 0 Comment 0
Followed a stream
Heart 1 Comment 0
And saw tree house
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 3,170 miles (5,102 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0